Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I've used this many times over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Pretty good flavor, nice and light overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this because I was craving a lemon cake and my favorite recipe is from scratch, but I didn't have time for that. I was a little concerned about the texture from reading reviews but it was wonderful. I used a yellow cake mix, a small package of pudding (lemon) instead of the larger one because I picked up the small by mistake, and I added 1/4 cup of oil and used 3 whole eggs (I was not concerned about fat/calorie content for this occasion). I used fresh lemon juice from four lemons in place of part of the water. I did not use the frosting in the recipe so I cannot comment (I subbed a cream cheese lemon frosting). I made two 8" rounds and used no-sugar-added blackberry jam as a filling between the layers. It was amazing and fast -- I am not one to like anything from a box but this, I would do again. The only thing I'd do differently, especially if I were taking the cake to an event, is probably double the recipe -- even the 8" round layers were pretty thin and it made a very petite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is very worth making. I really loved the dense texture of this cake. I was working on a birthday cake for my grandmother with instructions to make it a lemon cake. It doesn't bake up very high, so I ended up doing two 9"x13" layers with blueberry pie filling in the middle. Used a lemon cake mix, added the juice of two lemons as part of the water requirement and also zested the lemons into the batter. Also added a teaspoon of lemon extract. Instead of the topping here I did a swiss meringue buttercream. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Not very lemony, and textures seems rubbery. Beating vanilla pudding for 2 minutes makes it too thick and does not fold into whipped cream well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I did not care for this. Followed the directions closely based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
So good....ony gave 4 stars beacuse it was a bit too sweet but kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
cake very moist , but when i added non fat milk i used a can of non fat milk and when i added it to the sugar free pudding it was too thick?? but was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Followed recipe but used lemon cake mix. This was easy and as good of a lemon cake I have ever had! Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I haven't even tasted the cake yet, but I licked the bowl and it was amazing, it is our dessert tonight, I topped mine with strawberries as the store didn't have any raspberries in. I also used lemon cake mix. I also used the instant sugar free lemon pudding for the frosting, the bowl was finger licking good!!! I will come back after eating it to let you know how awesome it tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States