Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this for mother's day. Used Lemon Cake Mix but otherwise made as written. Well, almost. I prepared a Lemon Curd as a filling, however will chill next time before placing top layer. The pudding cake is so dense and moist that it squished out all of the lemon curd so it was a bit more like a sauce than a filling, but it was really delicious! Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Fantastic cake! I used lemon cake mix & lemon pudding, and I also sprinkled a tad of lemon zest on each one after frosting them (I made cupcakes for my son's 7th birthday party). They were a huge hit! Very moist and fluffy, and super easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Just a suggestion but what about using Jello Lemon or Lemon Cream instant pudding instead of Vanilla! I often make Lemon Cream instant pudding, throw in some fresh blueberries and crush Archway Shortbread Cookies (I think they're better than Walkers!!!!) Oh, and add 4 oz of Marscapone to instant pudding after it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This recipe is outstanding. I love the texture of this cake so much, I use the base ingredients to start nearly every cake I bake now. I just change up the cake flavor, pudding flavor, and have used several different extracts to create other creations. Any time I make this, I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I added some fresh lemon juice and zest to the topping. Made cupcakes and an 8x8 cake for Easter- delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kessler Sansom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a dense cake, more like a pound cake which I liked even though it didn't rise as I hoped, I baked it in layers. After tasting the batter,I added additional lemon extract. I also frosted a light layer of lemon curd on the top of each layer before I frosted it with the whipped topping mixture. It was still disappointing, as far as lemon flavor was concerned. I wanted something more tart, kind of 'hit you in the face' lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a good cake and surprisingly dense (the pudding I suppose!). I liked the frosting, which was just light and perfect. Like others, I used a lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
5 star recipe! I'm sorry but I would never add oil or whole eggs to this recipe as was previously mentioned. It was so delicious as is. Very moist and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I made this for my sons 25th birthday (he wanted something out of the ordinary and I'm always up for something new.) He said this was the best cake he ever had! I will definitely be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I baked this cake today expecting to be wowed because of the many positive reviews but was somewhat disappointed. I followed the recipe except I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow. The cake turned out rather flat and dense. I whipped my own cream topping and added the vanilla pudding and lemon extract. I thought that was good but I like a stronger lemony taste so next time I will use lemon pudding instead of vanilla. I liked the concept of the cake so next time I will not skimp on calories. I will give it another try baking but next time I will bake it the traditional way with whole eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States