Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I made it for my husband's birthday and did a layer cake with 2 9-inch rounds. I made it exactly as written except I used lemon cake mix and used 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites. It cooked in about 24 min. I didn't notice any aftertaste at all in the frosting, surprisingly, because usually I detest "sugarfree" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good - I modified for a teacake - like dessert. I made per the directions but I only put about half of the batter into a 9x 13 lined with parchment. When cooled, I cut out circles with a narrow wine glass so that they fit a regular-sized cupcake cup. I then topped with the frosting and refrigerated. It served well with cake balls as a dessert. It did not rise a lot but I wanted it that way. Very spongy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
bleck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
this is so moist!! Great recipe, easytoo. I didn't have a 1 ounce paskage of pudding for the frosting so I used a 3/4 ounce package and it was fine. It's a "do over " in my house.~ I think next time I'll do a chocolate one for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This cake is so awesome! Everyone loved it, and it was super easy to make. I also appreciated how it was on the light side, too. I used lemon cake mix, and I think it was perfectly lemony. I made it in a 9x13 pan and it came out fine. I used extra frosting (it was great frosting, too!) to decorate with raspberries. It was more on the spongy side because of the pudding, but that made it unique from the light tea- style cake that I was expecting. I think it has something to do with how long you beat it for. Thanks, I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My husband loves lemon cake, and the lemony-ness of this one was a hit! I'm not familiar with 1oz. packages of pudding mix, and couldn't find any, so I used the regular 3.4 oz. pkg of instant lemon pudding mix, and increased the milk to 1 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Used lemon cake mix and pudding mix as mentioned before. No big issues with the cake rising properly due to thorough mixing. Added zest and juice from real lemons to the topping instead of extract. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I didn't have a 10 x 15 pan so I used my 11 x 17 and cut the cake into 4 layers. I frosted between layers and it makes a beautiful 4 layer cake. It doesn't raise high at all so making the layers worked great for me. I make this cake often and everyone loves it..they think I bought it from a high end bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used two cake mixes and made two 9x13 cakes because the new mixes are only 15.25 ozs. I also used lemon pudding for both the cake and frosting. I layered the cakes with frosting between and it was excellent. Had many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macedon, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States