Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My husband loves lemon cake, and the lemony-ness of this one was a hit! I'm not familiar with 1oz. packages of pudding mix, and couldn't find any, so I used the regular 3.4 oz. pkg of instant lemon pudding mix, and increased the milk to 1 cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Used lemon cake mix and pudding mix as mentioned before. No big issues with the cake rising properly due to thorough mixing. Added zest and juice from real lemons to the topping instead of extract. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I didn't have a 10 x 15 pan so I used my 11 x 17 and cut the cake into 4 layers. I frosted between layers and it makes a beautiful 4 layer cake. It doesn't raise high at all so making the layers worked great for me. I make this cake often and everyone loves it..they think I bought it from a high end bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used two cake mixes and made two 9x13 cakes because the new mixes are only 15.25 ozs. I also used lemon pudding for both the cake and frosting. I layered the cakes with frosting between and it was excellent. Had many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macedon, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
MMM Yummy.... Whipped up 4 egg whites (instead of 3) separately and folded them into the rest of the combined ingredients. Fold them in well. This helps to make cake a little fluffier since the added pudding mix makes cake denser. I left out the non-fat milk and used lemon cake mix, not yellow. I sliced the cake to make 2 layers and spread lemon pudding filling in center. Going to try raspberry spread next time (1 small jar seedless raspberry preserves + 1 box raspberry jello as suggested by another reviewer). Used "Cream cheese frosting II" recipe and made a flag with blueberries and strawberries for the 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This cake is amazing! I've made it several times and always receive amazing compliments. But i also made some adjustments: whip your own heavy cream instead of cool whip, then blend in mixer with pudding mix, don't fold - the texture and rich taste is as good as any professionally done bakery. I also grated two lemons into the whipped cream. Also and per other suggestions, I used 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice as a substitute for full water in the batter. I make this as a double layer cake. Don't expect to rise - it won't. But do mix at high speed as suggested to aeriate the batter. The outcome is a nice size double layer cake that has a very light texture - not heavy like a pound cake. Emjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! I used lemon pudding for both the cake & the topping because we enjoy the tangy lemon taste all the way through the dessert. Took to my ailing neighbor & their family loved it too. Winner all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDlargirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this cake today. As advised by other readers I used lemon cake mix, lemon pudding mix and added 1/3 lemon juice. Trying to make it more yummy I added 1/2 vegetable oil and used 3 whole eggs. The cake was good and moist but not "lemony" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I am afraid to say that I was disappointed with this recipe. It just didn't have that refreshing lemony taste that I was looking for even though I doubled the amount of lemon extract called for. I took it to a family gathering and brought most of it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I followed to the tee and did not like the heavy, congealed feel this cake had. Seemed more like I was eating bread pudding. It did not have the knockout lemony kick I was hoping for either. Had to fill the cupcake tins almost to the top, the first batch were well below the paper. Also did not pull away from the paper very well. So, wouldn't recommend cc paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States