Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
5 star recipe! I'm sorry but I would never add oil or whole eggs to this recipe as was previously mentioned. It was so delicious as is. Very moist and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I made this for my sons 25th birthday (he wanted something out of the ordinary and I'm always up for something new.) He said this was the best cake he ever had! I will definitely be making this cake often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I baked this cake today expecting to be wowed because of the many positive reviews but was somewhat disappointed. I followed the recipe except I used lemon cake mix instead of yellow. The cake turned out rather flat and dense. I whipped my own cream topping and added the vanilla pudding and lemon extract. I thought that was good but I like a stronger lemony taste so next time I will use lemon pudding instead of vanilla. I liked the concept of the cake so next time I will not skimp on calories. I will give it another try baking but next time I will bake it the traditional way with whole eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this cake for a birthday party for my stepmom and everyone loved it. It was moist, light and the frosting was a big hit. I made it as directed and it came out perfect. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I love lemon and this was soooo yummy! I, too, used Lemon cake mix, and I used instant lemon pudding for the frosting. I then made this in 2 9x13-in pans and layered them, using a can of Lemon Pie Filling I found in my pantry. I took this to treat day at work and had none left over. I know it was delicious simply by the number of requests for the recipe. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I made it for my husband's birthday and did a layer cake with 2 9-inch rounds. I made it exactly as written except I used lemon cake mix and used 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites. It cooked in about 24 min. I didn't notice any aftertaste at all in the frosting, surprisingly, because usually I detest "sugarfree" stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fultondale, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good - I modified for a teacake - like dessert. I made per the directions but I only put about half of the batter into a 9x 13 lined with parchment. When cooled, I cut out circles with a narrow wine glass so that they fit a regular-sized cupcake cup. I then topped with the frosting and refrigerated. It served well with cake balls as a dessert. It did not rise a lot but I wanted it that way. Very spongy and nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
bleck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
this is so moist!! Great recipe, easytoo. I didn't have a 1 ounce paskage of pudding for the frosting so I used a 3/4 ounce package and it was fine. It's a "do over " in my house.~ I think next time I'll do a chocolate one for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This cake is so awesome! Everyone loved it, and it was super easy to make. I also appreciated how it was on the light side, too. I used lemon cake mix, and I think it was perfectly lemony. I made it in a 9x13 pan and it came out fine. I used extra frosting (it was great frosting, too!) to decorate with raspberries. It was more on the spongy side because of the pudding, but that made it unique from the light tea- style cake that I was expecting. I think it has something to do with how long you beat it for. Thanks, I'm keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States