Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
took the advise of other reviewers and used a lemon cake mix. since duncan hines has reduced the amount of product in their cake mixes (from 18.25 oz to 16.5 oz) i used a 3.4 oz package of lemon instant pudding to boost the lemon flavor. family loved it! next time i'm going to add some lemon zest to the cake for a more intense lemon flavor, then decide which way i'll make it after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This cake turned out great, and the whole household enjoyed it, apparently it is getting added to the Thanksgiving menu as well. The only adjustment I made was to substitute Carnation milk instead of the suggested nonfat milk - everything else I kept the same. My hubbie took it some of it to work the next day, and I ended up sending the recipe to one of his co-worker's to share with their family, and another requested that I bring one to their next gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have made similar cakes - but this is very delicious. Only comment - i the picure shows it like a layer cake. no where do the instructions state this. I am doing mine in a 9X13 as other suggested. Janet/AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I know I'm in the minority here, but I found this cake incredibly dull. The cake is not noteworthy, the frosting is light, but odd. It seemed like a recipe you'd find on the back of a pudding box or something. This is not going to move out of the cake pan very fast, so I'm saying goodbye to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is delicious and refreshing. Everyone loved it and many asked for the recipe. BUT.... I have found that using the 15-16 oz. cake mixes makes a difference -- the cake is much thinner and not as moist. Boo to the manufacturers for making this change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I was glad I read some of the reviews before making this cake. The reviews were helpful and gave me an idea what to expect, for instance that the cake doesn't rise like you would expect it too. some people said they doubled the recipe. I chose not to knowing what to expect. I was not disappointed, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
It was ok but nothing special. You can taste the difference between a cake made from fresh ingredients and one made with no cook pudding mixes and frozen whipped topping. You get what you put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was so good, I was surprised by how moist it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very good. I made this as the basis for the "flag cake" for the 4th of July. Worked great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
only ok. I beat it for 4 minutes and it is pretty flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States