Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Not that good, the cake is very dense, did not rise, and the only chg I made was added lemon zest and the juice of one lemon. The frosting was ok, but I did not see a 1 oz package of pudding, the smallest one is 3.4 oz in regular ( I don't like the sugarfree ones). Plus frosting not thick enough to hold a two layer cake together, taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
wow what a cake!!! I followed the recipe & it turned out great. thanks LaDonna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Awesome cake and a big hit with co-workers. The perfect summer cake. I did what one reviewer suggested and used the juice of a lemon for part of the water and topped it with strawberries. Will most certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
My family absolutely loves lemon cake, so I have tried a lot of them. Based on recommendations from others I made the following modification, and was told that it was the best lemon cake they had ever had! I used the lemon pudding and lemon cake mix, added zest of one lemon, subbed 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice for 1/2 cup water, added 1-2 egg yolks, and best my egg whites separately to a soft peak before folding in. I also used the cream cheese frosting II recipe from this site and added the juice of one lemon. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This cake was light and delicious. I used a smaller pan (instead of the sheet cake pan) so you do have to cook it longer. As others suggested, I used a lemon cake mix and then lemon pudding for the frosting. I used fresh lemon juice and put some lemon zest in the frosting. As a topping i put blueberries and strawberries. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill
Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I prepared this for my friends and myself and it was delicious! They could not stop raving about it and they took most of it home when they left! It surprised me because it was so easy and delicious! Great with a summer meal! I topped the icing with whole fresh blueberries and took it to another level!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Not great. This cake came out very dense and bland. I used lemon cake mix as well as lemon pudding mix in the frosting. I wouldn't make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
great and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this for mother's day. Used Lemon Cake Mix but otherwise made as written. Well, almost. I prepared a Lemon Curd as a filling, however will chill next time before placing top layer. The pudding cake is so dense and moist that it squished out all of the lemon curd so it was a bit more like a sauce than a filling, but it was really delicious! Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Fantastic cake! I used lemon cake mix & lemon pudding, and I also sprinkled a tad of lemon zest on each one after frosting them (I made cupcakes for my son's 7th birthday party). They were a huge hit! Very moist and fluffy, and super easy to make. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luna13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States