Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Brought it to my company's monthly birthday celebration and it was a huge success! Everyone loved it:). It was easy and baked beautifully in my 9.5 x 13.5 pan. I Made sure I beat it the full 4 minutes. Raised beautifully and very moist. On my winner list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Too fake tasting, no natural lemon coming through at all, even when using lemon pudding mix, 1/2 lemon juice instead of water and lemon extract in both the cake and frosting. Also, the lemon cake mix said it already included pudding. Not sure if that affected the baking time, but it took more like 40-45 minutes for 2 8" rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I am a huge fan of lemon cake, and this was absolutely the best. I am so excited to serve this for our company tomorrow! Fabulous recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this cake last night and it was amazing. I added some lemon juice and lemon zest to the cake mix and I substituted the water for buttermilk, which I had in the fridge. Also, like others did, I used a lemon pudding for the topping, lemon zest and a little lemon juice along with the cool whip and mixed it all up. The cake was light and fluffy. I baked the cake in a decorative bundt pan. My guests all wanted seconds. This is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was confused after reading all the reviews of this cake, so it was with some trepidation that I made it for my husband's birthday. I used the Duncan Hinds Supreme lemon cake with lemon pudding and lemon juice in place of some of the water. Some reviewers found the cake light and fluffy, others said it was dense and heavy... I wanted something in between, so I used one whole egg and two whites, and carefully adjusted the liquid so that the batter wasn't too thick or thin. The topping was coolwhip and instant vanilla pudding (not sugar-free). It came out fine, and everyone liked it a lot, even though it wasn't chocolate ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
took the advise of other reviewers and used a lemon cake mix. since duncan hines has reduced the amount of product in their cake mixes (from 18.25 oz to 16.5 oz) i used a 3.4 oz package of lemon instant pudding to boost the lemon flavor. family loved it! next time i'm going to add some lemon zest to the cake for a more intense lemon flavor, then decide which way i'll make it after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This cake turned out great, and the whole household enjoyed it, apparently it is getting added to the Thanksgiving menu as well. The only adjustment I made was to substitute Carnation milk instead of the suggested nonfat milk - everything else I kept the same. My hubbie took it some of it to work the next day, and I ended up sending the recipe to one of his co-worker's to share with their family, and another requested that I bring one to their next gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I have made similar cakes - but this is very delicious. Only comment - i the picure shows it like a layer cake. no where do the instructions state this. I am doing mine in a 9X13 as other suggested. Janet/AZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I know I'm in the minority here, but I found this cake incredibly dull. The cake is not noteworthy, the frosting is light, but odd. It seemed like a recipe you'd find on the back of a pudding box or something. This is not going to move out of the cake pan very fast, so I'm saying goodbye to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is delicious and refreshing. Everyone loved it and many asked for the recipe. BUT.... I have found that using the 15-16 oz. cake mixes makes a difference -- the cake is much thinner and not as moist. Boo to the manufacturers for making this change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States