Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This is a great cake. The only adjustments I would make is to the frosting. I added yellow coloring to the icing. I would increase the frosting to allow for extra to pipe onto the cake to decorate it. A "crumb layer" is helpful when frosting this cake. Frost the cake very lightly and pay no attention to all the crumbs that will fall off the cake and mingle in the frosting. Refrigerate the cake for about a half an hour to let the icing firm up and then remove the cake and finish frosting the cake.....this way the crumbs stay in the first layer and will not ruin the look of the finished cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
562 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIIZABETH
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I've made this recipe a number of times and I always get rave reviews!! I have changed it a little: I have increased the filling ingredients by one-half and I've changed the cake by reducting the milk to 3/4 cup and adding 1/4 cup lemon juice. I love how lemony it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
For someone that loves lemon everything, I found this recipe to be nothing short of exceptional! The flavor was so intense! Because I was in a hurry over the Memorial Day weekend I used a white cake mix but used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg instead of only the 3 egg whites that the box recipe calls for. I also used store-bought lemon curd. I did make the included recipe for the lemon buttercream frosting, which was out of this world! I will definitely make this cake again and again. Everyone raved over it, and I was bummed that there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
After reading reviews that many thought this cake was to dense, I substituted cake flour for all purpose flour. As a result, I didn't find this cake to be dense at all. It's also very important to not overmix the batter! Thos two tips should ensure a super light and moist cake. The filling and icing on this cake just couldn't be beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I'm sure this recipe is delicious as written, but I used it for inspiration and here's what I did instead. I used a box lemon cake mix to make two 8 inch round cakes. Left one cake in tact and cut the other in half for a three layer cake. The uncut cake on the bottom, with lemon curd (purchased) spread over it. Then topped with the second layer of cake, and put a whipped topping & lemon pudding mixute on it.(3 oz pkg instant lemon pudding - prepared. Let it set up for five minutes, then blend about 1/2 container of whipped topping into it.) Then placed the top cake layer on and frosted everything using the lemon cream cheese frosting from this site. Plenty of frosting to add decorative piping. I had people who were completely stuffed from a large meal coming back for seconds of cake! It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
this cake was very good. I Did make a few changes when I made it though. For the cake I added Lemon pudding filling and Lemon extract so that The cake itself would have a Lemon extract. My other change was that I used Lemon extract where ever the recipe called for vanilla extract. I also doubled the cake mix so that I was able to fill my pans a little more so that when I cut the layers in half it would be thick enough for the cut. I would suggest to double up on the icing as well. The original recipe makes just enough, but if you are like me and wish to have enough icing to fully cover the cake like I wanted to, then a double batch would be good. I did have a problem with the way that the filling tasted. To me I could still taste the yolk of the eggs, and I didn't like that , so the next time I would prefer buying a Lemon filling for that part of the cake. I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I wish I would've read the whole recipie before cooking, I didn't give myself enough time to make it, but let me say, it was the best cake I've ever tasted! Absolutely divine! Everyone loved it and I now have it in my "special occasions" folder, if you have the time, I would suggest this one hundred times over!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I 11/2 times the recipe and made it in 9" pans. I had plenty of filling and just enough frosting. Next time I will pipe frosting around the inside edge of the layers with filling. I began with makeing the filling and letting it cool while I baked the cake. I did substitute 1/3 cup of the milk for lemon juice. I will try more next time. I love lemon and this cake totally took care of my craving. A really wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
My rating is for the filling, as that is the only part of the recipe I have used. The filling is wonderful! I received rave reviews from my entire family after using this in a plain yellow cake. It is just the right texture for a cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I made just the filling and frosting from this recipe, choosing to make the white cake from a box mix. The filling was oddly tart and sweet at the same time, and the recipe made way too much for an 8-inch round, even using it on two layers. The frosting was very sweet, too. The whole cake made my teeth hurt. There are better lemon cake recipes 'out there.' I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States