Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
I gave this 4 stars because of it's taste. Just as good as any in a bakery. I was looking for a cake with lots of lemon everywhere and this is it. To enhance the lemon flavor more I added half a pack of lemon kool-aide to the cake as the recipe is for a white cake. The lemon was all in the frostings. Great cake. Also, this is not a cake to make late in the day. It is a bit time consuming so be prepared so you aren't rushed and dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This is a great cake. The only adjustments I would make is to the frosting. I added yellow coloring to the icing. I would increase the frosting to allow for extra to pipe onto the cake to decorate it. A "crumb layer" is helpful when frosting this cake. Frost the cake very lightly and pay no attention to all the crumbs that will fall off the cake and mingle in the frosting. Refrigerate the cake for about a half an hour to let the icing firm up and then remove the cake and finish frosting the cake.....this way the crumbs stay in the first layer and will not ruin the look of the finished cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
563 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIIZABETH
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This cake recipe was really refreshing! The tangy lemon flavor is really a nice switch from the usual chocolate and vanilla recipes. I think of this as a great "Springtime Cake"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This cake is AMAZING! Well worth the effort to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Time consuming but easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Delicious cake I made for Easter. Came out perfect the first time. Need to increase the amount for frosting an additional one cup asI wished to decorate it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen MacHenry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I guess I did something wrong since everyone else gave it glowing reviews, but I followed the recipe exactly. After I baked the cake, it wasn't even an inch thick,so slicing was incredibly difficult. When I refrigerated it for a few hours, the filling had saturated the cake, so it was just a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is one of the worst cake recipes I have ever made. The cake is tough and course. There is so much sugar in the total recipe that you need a drink of water between each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I made just the filling and frosting from this recipe, choosing to make the white cake from a box mix. The filling was oddly tart and sweet at the same time, and the recipe made way too much for an 8-inch round, even using it on two layers. The frosting was very sweet, too. The whole cake made my teeth hurt. There are better lemon cake recipes 'out there.' I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I tried the filling and frosting and didn't like it. I might try the cake part next time, but skip the filling/frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States