Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this for a party a while back. It was my first attempt at homemade everything, and it turned out great! My cake decorating skills left something to be desired, but it tasted so good I don't think anyone cared. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My family just LOVED this cake and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe and came out DELICIOUS, but my only suggestion is to make sure you make the FILLING first, before you do the cake or anything because it needs to be refrigerated for 3 hours..so it makes sense to do the the filling first, then the cake, then the frosting. I added more lemon juice and more lemon zest in the filling and the frosting to make it extra lemony. Great for summer time, light, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a wonderful cake! It's lemony and the sweetness (of the cake base) would be just right if you halve it! The filling is aromatic and extremely rich in lemon, an ideal for lemon lovers! The cake is delicious and flavorful (i substituted 1/3 milk for lemon juice) though it was too dense and didn't rise well, even when cake flour was used. An improvement on the cake base would be helpful to perfect the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This cake is just ok. I followed the instructions completely yet my frosting was too runny and ran off the cake. The cake itself is just mediocre and too dense for my liking. The lemon filling layer is absolutely fabulous though. That being said, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Cane Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Forgive me for picking nits (being a nitpicker) however this recipe says it's a Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting. Am I the only one who doesn't see any lemon in the actual cake recipe? I added lemon juice to the cake recipe and the whole thing was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made the lemon frosting for a boxed cake I made. It was very good. I added a little vanilla and a big more lemon than called for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made just the cake part of this recipe for my son's birthday (was recommended in 'the buzz') and used the frosting from "Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake" - that went very well with this. I thought the cake was delicious, DH thought it was dense but everyone else said it was good. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, DH really can't stand vanilla - I loved that extract in this, I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. If the cake recipe itself was better, everything would have been great. Oh...it's not a lemon cake either...just has lemon filling and frosting. I was very dissapointed in the cake recipe. I might try again with a better cake. The filling and frosting turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was very disappointed. First of all this was not a lemon cake b/c there was no lemon in it. Second of all the cake was sooo dry and dense. This did make it easier to slice and handle but the taste is bad. I like that the curd was sour but some people thought it was too much. The frosting was good and the cake looks great. I would recommend using a different cake recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States