Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The star of this recipe is the frosting. Its light, fluffy, and the perfect sweetness/lemon tang. The cake is mild which pairs perfectly with the tart lemon curd (I made the Microwave Lemon Curd on this site for more speed and less dishes). Husband loved his lemon birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The cake had great flavor, but it was a bit dense. I may not have beat it long enough. It is definitely a do again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I had friends over for dinner and no one wanted to finish it. The cake layer was to dense for everyone's liking and the filling was way to tart, even to those who normally love lemon flavored desserts. The frosting was ok, nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy7314

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
ho hum cake - nothing special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Delicious, but I probably will not make it again as it is not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I tried a lot of cake recipes and this is the best one. I only made the cake and frosting, it is taste very good, except it is little too sweet for me. I will use this recipe again next time and cut down 1/4 cup of sugar for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This turned out amazing! i really loved it and so did my whole family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I did not use the cake recipe however the lemon icing and lemon filling are wonderful just as written! The icing is very sweet and powerful so you have to like lemon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Not impressed. The curd was way too tart. the buttercream was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made this for a party a while back. It was my first attempt at homemade everything, and it turned out great! My cake decorating skills left something to be desired, but it tasted so good I don't think anyone cared. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States