Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My layers came out too thin for me to cut in two. did anyone else have that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nisha Halim
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Besides being told that it tasted sweet, I thought it was great as I made it, I made the cake lemon by adding lemon juice for part of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha Halim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this for my husband. I was disappointed there was no lemon in the cake so I added 2T lemon juice and 1t zest. Because I added more liquid, I added more flour. I made them as cupcakes. I only got 23 cupcakes. I also doubled the lemon juice in the icing. Two thumbs way up there!!! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this for a coworker 2 years ago and she was thrilled. She requested Lemon cake and was really impressed with the flavors. I was afraid the frosting would make it overpowering lemon. Not so It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made it a triple layered cake without icing and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoav Ronen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The cake came out flat, dense and not very tasty. We ended up using the frosting for a lemon box cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicyAK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1VeryLady
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great taste! I took my time to make sure I did it right so it took a whole day to make two cakes, I followed the recipe to a tee, I had a couple of hiccups but because of the great directions it actually turned out well I found the cake to be dense and full of lemon. I actually added Peach Tree Snaps to the icing ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this cake for my aunt. She loves lemon cake. She said she wanted lemon everything. This cake is WOW..its absolutely amazing in that lemon pucker-zing you hope to find in such a cake. You start eating and you cannot stop..you lick the plate..you add more frosting or lemon curd its soo good. I only added lemon juice to the actual cake..everything else kept the same. This cake will be made again. .and again..ohhh so lemon good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
i did not care for this. it was hard and dense, not moist and fluffy as i had hoped. will be finding a different lemon cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
It was okay, for all of the time put into it. I read the reviews and had hoped it would be amazing. It was for my son's birthday; he said he wanted a lemon cake. I thought it was okay, but not what I expected. My kids were on the fence; one said it was okay, one said too sour and the other said it was good, but not great. My husband said he didn't care for it and requested that I not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIENZ76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States