Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
Time consuming but easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I enjoy cooking, but am no where close to an "accomplished" cook. I know mostly home recipes with a little of this or that, as I have basically taught myself to cook. However, I am presently working in Iceland and no lemon cakes are available. I found this one, cooked for my wife's bday. It was not a perfect looking cake, but my first "from scratch" cake was wonderfully tasty. THANKS TO WHOM EVER put it out there. My wife thought it was great from an exmarine turned pastor thanks to Jesus CHrist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
This cake is AMAZING! Well worth the effort to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
My rating is for the filling, as that is the only part of the recipe I have used. The filling is wonderful! I received rave reviews from my entire family after using this in a plain yellow cake. It is just the right texture for a cake filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Delicious cake I made for Easter. Came out perfect the first time. Need to increase the amount for frosting an additional one cup asI wished to decorate it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen MacHenry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I've made this recipe a number of times and I always get rave reviews!! I have changed it a little: I have increased the filling ingredients by one-half and I've changed the cake by reducting the milk to 3/4 cup and adding 1/4 cup lemon juice. I love how lemony it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
I made this frosting for the "Lemon Bundt Cake" by Phyllis (on this website) and it was just PERFECT together!!! I haven't made this cake recipe, so I can't vouch for the cake, but the frosting was ROCKIN'!!! I got rave reviews!!! The frosting wasn't too sweet, it was just right! If you are disappointed in this cake recipe try this frosting with the Lemon Bundt Cake recipe! You'll love it! Oh, and for the "soda" in the cake recipe, I substituted Sprite! Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I made this cake today and for sure, it is time consuming but my husband and I both love it, so it was worth the time and effort. We didn't think it was too sweet nor too lemony, we thought it was just right. True, the layers don't rise much but when you split the layers and stack them the cake is plenty tall. I followed the recipe to a degree. I used bottled lemon juice for the filling and fresh lemon juice for the frosting. Don't know if that would have made a difference, but it has a great taste nontheless. Thanks so much for this recipe. It will satisfy all the lemon lovers out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
i'll have to say this recipe is awesome. it's at it's best cool from the refigerator, which makes it an great cake to eat in the summer. like another reviewer said "it's VERY sweet an VERY lemony", but I woudn't change a thing! when I made this cake, I made only half the butter frosting, because I didn't have enough confectioner's sugar. half the dose wasn't enough. stick with the original quantities. I woudn't advise increasing the filling ingredients by one-half, as another reviewer said, as it would be waaaaaay too much sugar. i really liked the soft texture, and i LOVED the contrast between the tart filling and the buttery frosting. thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is a great cake!! I made it for a birthday and everyone raved about it! They said it tasted like it came from a fancy bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States