Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Everything about this recipe was amazing! I added a little more lemon juice to the frosting instead of lemon zest but that was all I changed. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious.. I love lemon curd, and didn't have time, so I made it with the jarred curd from the store.. very good... it is a strong lemon for the filling, so don't do what I did and take liberties to add more unless you are a lemon fanatic... it was a little overpowering, but that was my fault, not the recipe's! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Daghfal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leitchfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
HUGE Resurrection Day hit!! I followed the recipe and was pleasantly surprised by my first scratch cake, very moist! I did add extra fresh lemon juice and zest as we are lemon freaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Cervantes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. The cake itself was too crumbly and did not rise well. The lemon butter frosting was phenomenal, I loved it! The lemon filling was good on its own, but overpowered the cake when it was all put together. The whole result was just too much lemon flavor. In the future, I would use my own yellow cake recipe, and only do one layer of lemon filling, with the lemon butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Based on another review, I made the cake with pastry flour rather than all purpose, and I used 1/4 cup of lemonjuice and 3/4 cup of milk. The cake was delicious. The lemon curd was also delicious, thick and tangy. The frosting on the other hand was terribly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This cake was absolutly amazing. I made for a large group of people and I got rave reviews for it. Even though I made two it turned out that one was enough. It was too sweet for a few of my guests. Also there was a lot of extra filling and frosting. Overall I loved the cake and will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was in a rush and had to use a French Vanilla cake mix for the first part of this recipe. It turned out onderfully. Everyone at the party kept saying that they loved it and wanted the recipe. It was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Lynette~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I loved the cake part on this. It was a nice lightly sweetened sponge style cake. I plan to use the cake with other recipes. The filling however was good when it was warm, but after it cooled it seemed "super sweet yet very tart" oddly at the same time. This cake could have been better with a much milder lemon curd. I believe it may have been because of the rind in it? I thought the frosting tasted overly sweet to. A frosting more like whipped cream would have been less sweet. However, the icing did harden up nicely when I refridgerated it. I had planned to pipe a decoration, but there was almost none left after icing the cake. So, I just put a little decoration on the top. The cake did to look very pretty when cut though, and the layers held up nicely even before it was refridgerated. Even though I found the contrast of very tart and super sweet to not be to my liking, I made the cake for Easter and I am sure all or most of it will get eaten tommorrow. Just not a cake I would make again without some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The lemon curd was the best part about this recipe. The cake part was tough and dry. The frosting was to thick even after extra milk added. Tasted like the cake, frosting, and filling didn't go together. I made this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, New York, USA
Living In: Sodus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Made just like recipe! Very dissappointed. I love lemon cake but not this one! Scrapped off the icing and added whipped topping to make it edible! The lemong filling was ok. Certainly wasted time and money on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States