Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was in a rush and had to use a French Vanilla cake mix for the first part of this recipe. It turned out onderfully. Everyone at the party kept saying that they loved it and wanted the recipe. It was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Lynette~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I loved the cake part on this. It was a nice lightly sweetened sponge style cake. I plan to use the cake with other recipes. The filling however was good when it was warm, but after it cooled it seemed "super sweet yet very tart" oddly at the same time. This cake could have been better with a much milder lemon curd. I believe it may have been because of the rind in it? I thought the frosting tasted overly sweet to. A frosting more like whipped cream would have been less sweet. However, the icing did harden up nicely when I refridgerated it. I had planned to pipe a decoration, but there was almost none left after icing the cake. So, I just put a little decoration on the top. The cake did to look very pretty when cut though, and the layers held up nicely even before it was refridgerated. Even though I found the contrast of very tart and super sweet to not be to my liking, I made the cake for Easter and I am sure all or most of it will get eaten tommorrow. Just not a cake I would make again without some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The lemon curd was the best part about this recipe. The cake part was tough and dry. The frosting was to thick even after extra milk added. Tasted like the cake, frosting, and filling didn't go together. I made this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, New York, USA
Living In: Sodus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Made just like recipe! Very dissappointed. I love lemon cake but not this one! Scrapped off the icing and added whipped topping to make it edible! The lemong filling was ok. Certainly wasted time and money on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used this recipe for the filling and frosting... I used some lemons a friend gave me.... The filling and cake came out WAY TOO TART/SOUR!!! Not sure if it was the home grown lemons or the amount of lemon juice & zest. I think it would be really good if you use SWEET lemons and be careful not to use too much. I used a white box cake to save time and insure a good texture. Also, next time maybe I wouldn't add lemon to the icing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
The only change I made to the recipe itself, and this is not extreme, was adding about 1 tablespoon of lemon zest to the cake batter. Fantastic and lemony confection-as it should be. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stubborn cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good, but I would make a few adjustments next time. Like other reviews I felt like the cake was a bit heavy. However the lemon curd filling was absolutely incredible, as was the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The frosting was simply way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I have wanted to make this for a long time. It was worth waiting for. The only thing I did differently was use 4 8" pans, and baked for 12 minutes. I did line the bottoms of the pans with parchment paper before greasing and flouring after reading that some people had issues with the cakes sticking. My guests and hubby and I all loved it. Will make again. The perfect spring dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by usernamelogin
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I tried to make this recipe twice after failing two times. I did everything the recipe said and tried again a second time to ensure that I did not do anything wrong. The filling was really good and lemony. However, the cake was extremely dense in a bad way. It was hard and not moist and turned out to be eggy. I would recommend making the cake itself out of chiffon cake or sponge cake if you're looking for that light and airy layered lemon cake. I used the buttercream icing and it was good too I didn't add the milk because it'd get too watery and I only used about 3 cups sugar and added some cream cheese to taste. For those who don't want their icing to be too sweet due to the icing sugar without losing the consistency, try adding about a teaspoon or so of salt (and no you won't taste the salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usernamelogin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States