Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This cake is just ok. I followed the instructions completely yet my frosting was too runny and ran off the cake. The cake itself is just mediocre and too dense for my liking. The lemon filling layer is absolutely fabulous though. That being said, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Cane Child

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Forgive me for picking nits (being a nitpicker) however this recipe says it's a Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting. Am I the only one who doesn't see any lemon in the actual cake recipe? I added lemon juice to the cake recipe and the whole thing was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made the lemon frosting for a boxed cake I made. It was very good. I added a little vanilla and a big more lemon than called for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made just the cake part of this recipe for my son's birthday (was recommended in 'the buzz') and used the frosting from "Daisy Brand Sour Cream Chocolate Cake" - that went very well with this. I thought the cake was delicious, DH thought it was dense but everyone else said it was good. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, DH really can't stand vanilla - I loved that extract in this, I'll make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. If the cake recipe itself was better, everything would have been great. Oh...it's not a lemon cake either...just has lemon filling and frosting. I was very dissapointed in the cake recipe. I might try again with a better cake. The filling and frosting turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I was very disappointed. First of all this was not a lemon cake b/c there was no lemon in it. Second of all the cake was sooo dry and dense. This did make it easier to slice and handle but the taste is bad. I like that the curd was sour but some people thought it was too much. The frosting was good and the cake looks great. I would recommend using a different cake recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I've never reviewed any recipes before but this one definitely deserves it, GREAT recipe! And I didn't even think I would like lemon cake! I made it exact except I did listen to other reviewers and make the cake with 3/4 c milk and 1/4 c lemon juice, it was fabulous! Loved it! So did everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Lemon cake is my favourite, so thought I'd have a go of baking one myself. Turned out great, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a wonderful lemon cake recipe. I had an easy time turning this into a vegan cake, with a few egg and milk substitutions. For the milk, I used a cup of soy instead of the cup of milk called for in the recipe. The eggs were a little more tricky, as this recipe called for both whole eggs and egg yolks. I substituted the 3 eggs in the cake with 3 teaspoons of baking soda mixed with 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (regular vinegar would have worked just as well, I'm sure). For the egg yolks in the filling, I mixed a quarter cup of flour with a half cup of ice cold water, and heated the mixture in a saucepan on medium heat until it thickened up. Once the mixture was thickened (after about 10 minutes) I added a teaspoon of oil and used it as directed to use the egg yolks in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good, the frosting was really sweet and I put a bit of a raspberry glaze between the layers that was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States