Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wonderful lemon cake! I followed suggestions to use cake flour, reduce powdered sugar in frosting and add lemon juice in cake. I also added yellow food coloring in the frosting. Great lemon taste and I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Cake is too dense and does not rise. Lemon filling was overly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Outstanding. Use Meyer lemons if possible - it will make a difference. I make this every year for my husband and father's birthday (they both love lemon goodies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The 5 stars is for the lemon filling. I didn't make the other two recipes. But the filling is delicious, nice and tart. It complemented the lemon flavored cake and Marshmallow fondant I made to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It doesn't raise. Its more like a soft cookie than a cake. The lemon cream icing is grainy, and the curd between the layers is far too tart. I made this for mother's day, and people didn't even finish the pieces they were served. I'm a cake baker, and cakes tend to go quickly at my house, but this one did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very Lemony...... Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This cake was great! I made it for my MIL's birthday and everyone liked it. I followed the directions as written with the one tiny exception of the frosting. I used all of my lemons making lemon juice for the filling so I didn't have any leftover for the frosting. I ended up substituting 1tsp lemon extract instead. It still turned out fine, although next time I will buy more lemons to make it as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is not a lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! I had just spent a few hours baking 2 other layer cakes that went terribly wrong, and this one finally worked. Very well, too! It was moist and light and very tasty. I did the cake and the curd, and used my own frosting (whipped cream). I will make this again as soon as possible. One thing that might have been different though is that it really didn't rise much, each cake was barely an inch high. I only made two layers as this was my original plan, but maybe for four layers this would be problematic. All in all everyone enjoyed the cake and there was nothing leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skywilling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natal, Rio Grande Do Norte, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States