Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I added lemon juice to the cake and a little extra to the frosting, subbed flour for the cornstarch and it came out super tasty! I only let the filling set for an hour and a half in the freezer, stirring it every so often before I put it on the cake for times sake, it came out just fine. I was very happy with it and put a little on some meringues I had on hand from the egg whites (didn't wanna waste em), it was super tasty there too. My boyfriend's friends all loved the cake and demanded more when I made it for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kundra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was an easy tasty frosting to make. I made it for some Lemon cupcakes and they compliment each other perfectly. Not too lemony, just the right hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wonderful lemon cake! I followed suggestions to use cake flour, reduce powdered sugar in frosting and add lemon juice in cake. I also added yellow food coloring in the frosting. Great lemon taste and I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Cake is too dense and does not rise. Lemon filling was overly tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Outstanding. Use Meyer lemons if possible - it will make a difference. I make this every year for my husband and father's birthday (they both love lemon goodies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The 5 stars is for the lemon filling. I didn't make the other two recipes. But the filling is delicious, nice and tart. It complemented the lemon flavored cake and Marshmallow fondant I made to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It doesn't raise. Its more like a soft cookie than a cake. The lemon cream icing is grainy, and the curd between the layers is far too tart. I made this for mother's day, and people didn't even finish the pieces they were served. I'm a cake baker, and cakes tend to go quickly at my house, but this one did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very Lemony...... Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This cake was great! I made it for my MIL's birthday and everyone liked it. I followed the directions as written with the one tiny exception of the frosting. I used all of my lemons making lemon juice for the filling so I didn't have any leftover for the frosting. I ended up substituting 1tsp lemon extract instead. It still turned out fine, although next time I will buy more lemons to make it as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States