Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Added lemon juice to cake mix. And used lemon curd out of a jar. Nice and soft and enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I loved the taste of this cake! VERY lemony! The only drawback was the texture of the cake itself. It was a little dense and tough. It may have been that I used buttermilk instead of regular milk though and used lemon juice instead of vanilla flavoring. I also added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have a short cut, I use lemon cake mix, but everything else is the same. use fresh lemons from the back yard lemon tree, and everyone loves the cake, this is the only lemon cake recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe is ok, but I think it needs improvements. For the actual cake, I added instant lemon pudding to add a bit of lemony goodness to it. The cakes are thin and a bit dense. Next time, I may try making more batter and doing things to fluff it up, like using cake flour and whipping the egg whites. As for the filling, the recipe makes PLENTY. It's delicious, but sort of runny; I had to stick it in the freezer a bit before spreading it. The frosting was a bit gritty, which I thought was weird. I also needed more. But overall the cake is tasty, just needs improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This cake was a disaster. The curd is good as is the frosting, but the cake itself was so heavy and dense. I made it three times following the recipe to the ounce. The cake must of weighed 5lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Driest cake ever! This cake was awful and very time consuming/labor intensive. Followed the recipe exactly as written. Wish I had not wasted my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bri-bri's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I have made this three times and my family loves it. It is very lemony. I like the texture of the cake, though some may think it too dense. The only thing I did different is made a little extra frosting to be sure there was enough for a crumb coat (whic you definitely need) and for piping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This is certainly one of the best cakes I have ever tried. I didn't have time to refrigerate any of it for 3 hours, so I used lemon curd from England for the filling. The cake was amazing. I also added lemon zest to the cake and a box of dry vanilla pudding mix. I kept the icing as it is originally. I'd make it with the described filling if I didn't have excellent lemon curd. The resulting cake is small, but just right for eating up in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Wow!! This cake is Excellenr! Moist not to dense The Absolute best texture!! I dont even like lemon an I love this cake! I did use cake flour had some extra blackberries so i decided to add them in yummy!!! I didnt use the recipe frosting I just whipped up some homemade whipped cream omg! The Bomb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made only the frosting from this recipe to frost coconut cupcakes. It was really easy and delicious! I added another small squeeze of the lemon into the frosting after I had mixed it up, because I wanted a little more tartness to counter the sweetness of the coconut. It was really easy to spread, and frosted 22 cupcakes. After frosting the cupcakes, I topped them with toasted coconut. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States