Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made this cake for my aunt. She loves lemon cake. She said she wanted lemon everything. This cake is WOW..its absolutely amazing in that lemon pucker-zing you hope to find in such a cake. You start eating and you cannot stop..you lick the plate..you add more frosting or lemon curd its soo good. I only added lemon juice to the actual cake..everything else kept the same. This cake will be made again. .and again..ohhh so lemon good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
i did not care for this. it was hard and dense, not moist and fluffy as i had hoped. will be finding a different lemon cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
It was okay, for all of the time put into it. I read the reviews and had hoped it would be amazing. It was for my son's birthday; he said he wanted a lemon cake. I thought it was okay, but not what I expected. My kids were on the fence; one said it was okay, one said too sour and the other said it was good, but not great. My husband said he didn't care for it and requested that I not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIENZ76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made this cake twice in one day. The first time I thought I must have left something out. The second time it turned out exactly the same way. The cakes were much too dense and hardly rose at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made this for a friend's birthday. His favorite flavor is lemon, and he LOVED it! So did his entire family! I used justa white cake mix, and it still turned out fantastic! Tasting the frosting, and filling desperately I was a little worried because it didn't taste too sweet. But once it was all put together, it tasted perfectly sweet and lemony. Just the right amount of frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Excellent.everyone loved it.I'm thinking. Of making it for my wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I have been on this site for many, many years - this is my first review. I hate when people make a COMPLETELY different recipe (with all the alterations) but review it. But, on second thought, isn't that why we come to this site - to see reviews and how cooks have altered things to make it work better? So, in that spirit, I made the following changes: I used 9 inch pans (all I had) did 1 and 1/2 times the recipe (for cake and filling) and FILLING: Make first. CAKE: substituted cake flour for regular (not sure if it made a difference)Checked at 20 mins (it was done.) A good tip for flat cakes: (really helpful when layering so your cakes don't dome and are flat) Take a strip of old, clean towel; wet it and wring it out so it is damp. Wrap around your cake pans and secure with safety pins. It works, really. After the cake cooled, I used a serrated knife and the result was pretty flat cakes. FROSTING: 1 doubled the frosting recipe (very glad I did this, as I barely had enough) As did other reviewers, I changed the proportion of the milk/lemon juice to 3T milk & 1 T lemon juice (before doubling) I also used 4 cups powdered sugar total (did not double) and it was plenty sweet. So, overall, I LOVED the lemon filling. I didn't think it was that hard, just took some time to cool. The frosting was pretty good. The cake was WAY TOO DENSE. As others have said, it was almost hard.- I will not be making the cake again. So, 5 stars for filling, 4 for frosting, 2 for cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Added lemon juice to cake mix. And used lemon curd out of a jar. Nice and soft and enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I loved the taste of this cake! VERY lemony! The only drawback was the texture of the cake itself. It was a little dense and tough. It may have been that I used buttermilk instead of regular milk though and used lemon juice instead of vanilla flavoring. I also added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have a short cut, I use lemon cake mix, but everything else is the same. use fresh lemons from the back yard lemon tree, and everyone loves the cake, this is the only lemon cake recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States