Lemon Cake with Lemon Filling and Lemon Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2015
We really liked it. A lot. It tastes like a lemon bar but without the heaviness of a lemon bar. However, mistakes were made and changes as well. I don't know if anyone else had trouble getting your cakes out of their baking dishes but I ended up rebaking the cakes for that reason. The second time we put wax paper on the bottom of the baking dishes, uped the vanilla, and added the zest of half a lemon. For the filling I increased the zest and juice (turned out great) and also strained the mixture to get out all of the clumps. For the frosting I uped the juice and the zest again for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ferreira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This is a lovely cake and, if made with cake flour, you will not have any heaviness. Follow other directions exactly and also remember it does require more time to put together than most cakes. My only reason for a 4 star rating is the use of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup of the milk with fresh lemon juice as someone else suggested, or its really not lemon cake. For some of the reviewers that didn't like the texture or thought it to be too dry, make sure you sift the all purpose flour before you measure it. That can make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Good cake.. Just too tangy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My layers came out too thin for me to cut in two. did anyone else have that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nisha Halim
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Besides being told that it tasted sweet, I thought it was great as I made it, I made the cake lemon by adding lemon juice for part of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha Halim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made this for my husband. I was disappointed there was no lemon in the cake so I added 2T lemon juice and 1t zest. Because I added more liquid, I added more flour. I made them as cupcakes. I only got 23 cupcakes. I also doubled the lemon juice in the icing. Two thumbs way up there!!! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this for a coworker 2 years ago and she was thrilled. She requested Lemon cake and was really impressed with the flavors. I was afraid the frosting would make it overpowering lemon. Not so It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made it a triple layered cake without icing and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoav Ronen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The cake came out flat, dense and not very tasty. We ended up using the frosting for a lemon box cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicyAK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States