Lemon Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It tasted really good, however, the instructions were unclear, and the custard was disturbingly foamy while I was cooking it. It also did NOT make enough to really do anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Made this for Easter dinner...what a success. Great treat for lemon lovers...I used my own pastry and had enough for 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
lemon curd was perfection. I made a couple of adjustments....I trippled the recipe. I used the juice of 3 lemons and topped it off with lime juice to make the cup I needed. I did not make/do meringue. I made fresh whipped cream and candied lemon chips for garnish. This curd was the most amazing flavor of sweet/tart. Absolutly exactly what I wanted and I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It turned out far too sweet with not enough lemon flavor. I followed the recipe to the letter only I tempered my eggs with the hot lemon mixture before adding it to the hot pot. Since this step is missing from the instructions I would be surprised if others didn't end up with scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
this was a great recipe however I must not have let it cook long enough because it didn't set as firm as I was thinking it would... over all this has wonderful flavor and its a great find! I will make this again.. I will only cook for a couple mins longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleynoel23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Filling was amazing. Served for a luncheon to rave reviews. My only change for next time: I tried using frozen pastry filo and didn't love the taste. Think I'll try homemade instead or actual piecrust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Beautiful dessert! I piped the meringue onto the top so that it would look nice and completely cover the lemon butter filling without pushing any out to the sides (which happens if you try to spoon it on). I did get about twice as much meringue & filling as I needed though - I'd say this makes closer to 24 tartlets. This is a wonderfully fresh recipe that looks so pretty when it's done - I made sure to leave them in long enough for the meringue to go totally caramel coloured and somwhat crispy... so nice! Be careful not to burn the lemon mixture when it's heating - it's easy for the sugar to sink to the bottom and burn without you noticing, since the top won't even be bubbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong on this, but it is not good. My merigue will not stick to the filling and the filling is way too gooey....very unpleased. I consider myself a good baker, too......I don't know! Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This was very good. Everyone raved about how good this was. It was also easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Instead of 3" tarts, I made Mini Tarts (mini muffin tins) and piped the meringue on top. The custard has the most wonderful flavor of sweet and tart, they make a beautiful presentation, and no one could resist this two bite wonder! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States