Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
These were very light and refreshing!! I substituted 1 teas vanilla and 1 teas lemon extract instead of the lemon juice. Instead of rolling I refrigerated the dough made into small balls and flattened out into circles. I used the sugar cookie icing recipe from this site! Very Yummy and easy! Thanks Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I added two bars of chopped good quality white chocolate to these, and they were excellent. Be sure to chop the zest to nearly nothing - zest near the surface of the cookies became hard and not too pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After reading the reviews I still tried the recipe sans lemon or vanilla extract. Instead I increased the lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I rolled the dough out to 1/8" and baked for 10 minutes without using the sugar coating. The consistency was great; I got a nice golden color around the edges. I drizzled the cookies with an icing made from ~ 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 tbsp. lemon juice and ~ 1/4 tsp. lemon zest. I let the icing dry (about 1 hour) before stacking for storage. My daughters gave them a double thumbs-up for taste. Most of the flavor intensity came from the icing instead of the cookie. Remember that it's a lemon and butter cookie, and I tasted a good balance of both from my procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This recipe is excellent! I added a little more lemon zest to the dough. I did not decorate with granulated sugar, instead I made an icing with powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Every person that tried these cookies, thought they were wonderful. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I've made these cookies several times, sometimes substituting orange for lemon. They have a light, delicate taste, and the recipe allows for versatility. You do need to watch that they don't overbake, but the time set out in the recipe is pretty much on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Just what I was looking for, great with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
AWESOME!! the lemon taste is very good but not too tart. Very big hit! Also good with a lemon cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very good and very easy....I added some lemon extract.....will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
In the oven now...! I really hope they come out well because they made my fridge smell really nice! They look, so far, beautiful! Cant wait to eat these later tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States