Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Hello Kathleen, I made your lemon cookies today...they were just what I was looking for crisp sweet and good !!! Thank you for a "real" leon cookies without the cake mix.. only thing is I use graded lemon rind ...didn't have any lemon zest ..I think it is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
They were really easy to make but not as lemony as I would like, I didn't add the lemon zest because I don't like it, maybe that adds a lot of lemon flavor but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
These were very light and refreshing!! I substituted 1 teas vanilla and 1 teas lemon extract instead of the lemon juice. Instead of rolling I refrigerated the dough made into small balls and flattened out into circles. I used the sugar cookie icing recipe from this site! Very Yummy and easy! Thanks Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
This is a delicious, crispy cookie. I only made one minor alteration ---I followed someone else's suggestion and used about 1 tsp of lemon extract instead of the lemon juice for a stronger flavour. Very good with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
All-in-all the recipe was pretty good. I would probably swap the lemon juice for the extract next time around. Also, the thickness of the cookie as stated in the recipe is not correct. It says the dough should be rolled to 1/4" inch. Using this thickness the yield is approximately half of the 2 1/2 dozen stated. Not only is the yield cut in half but the cooking time hs to be almost doubled. I suggest rolling these to about 1/8" thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
These were pretty good- we liked the tart lemon taste, but I wasn't too crazy about the texture.. however, my husband and boys loved them! I tried to cheat and use margerine instead of butter- I am definitely going to try them again with butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I don't understand how the taste can be so varied when you follow a recipe exactly as stated. I thought these were bland. I tried various icings to "fix" the flavor. This is first time that I have tossed a batch in the garbage. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I added two bars of chopped good quality white chocolate to these, and they were excellent. Be sure to chop the zest to nearly nothing - zest near the surface of the cookies became hard and not too pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
These are very good. I used more lemon zest than the recipe called for, about twice as much. Also, keep a close eye on the cookies while they are baking. They will overbrown if you give them half a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States