Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Although it technically classifies as a cookie, I found this recipe to be lacking the sweet stuff. Next time, I'll be doubling the sugar. Otherwise nicely textured with a great lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Easy and tasty treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanminded78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Tried making these exactly as stated. I have a very small kitchen, so I do not have room to roll out dough. I scooped by teaspoonfuls and then pressed with a sugar-coated glass to between 1/8-1/4 inch thickness. Made exactly as many cookies as recipe stated. However, with stated cooking temps and times these cookies burned to smitherines! Even after I moved the oven rack all the way to the top...one batch was in there for 3 minutes and the bottoms still burned! The ones that were edible were tasty crispy little guys, but definitely not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We really think these are great cookies. Just the way we like them, subtle and not too sweet! I didn't have a lemon, so I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 1tsp. each of lemon extract and vanilla. I was also impatient. Instead of chilling and rolling, I scooped little balls onto the cookie sheets and used a drinking glass covered with a damp cloth to smash them down. After cooking and cooling, I tossed them in powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Thank you SO much for posting this! The cookies are fabulous and I have been looking everywhere for a simple lemon roll out cookie. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
If you like a cake like cookie, this is for you. I added lemon extract to my dough and the lemon flavor really came out. I was looking for a thin, crispy cookie but these turned out really well and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are the lightest most delicated little cookies... I made them just a bit thicker than suggested and added 1 tbsp more lemon juice to the recipe... They turned out excellent.... I did however try the original recipe first and thought that it needed something extra for my taste but overall a GREAT little cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The cookies were great and simple to make. I love lemon flavor so I used the juice of small lemon and an extra teaspoon of the lemon zest. The cookies were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After reading the reviews I still tried the recipe sans lemon or vanilla extract. Instead I increased the lemon zest to 1 tablespoon. I rolled the dough out to 1/8" and baked for 10 minutes without using the sugar coating. The consistency was great; I got a nice golden color around the edges. I drizzled the cookies with an icing made from ~ 1 cup confectioner's sugar, 1 tbsp. lemon juice and ~ 1/4 tsp. lemon zest. I let the icing dry (about 1 hour) before stacking for storage. My daughters gave them a double thumbs-up for taste. Most of the flavor intensity came from the icing instead of the cookie. Remember that it's a lemon and butter cookie, and I tasted a good balance of both from my procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is a waste of time, energy, and ingredients. The cookies turned out bland and doughy. The cook times and temperatures are completely off, and I was using an oven thermometer. I am going to use a reliable Betty Crocker lemon buttercream frosting to try to salvage these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States