Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent recipe! The cookies came out soft and chewy and I loved the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
deliciously crisp, not too sweet. I doubled this recipe and yielded 32 3 inch cookies. I recommend that the dry ing. be sifted first to allow air to be incorporated. I used fresh lemon and zest because re-constitued lemon juice contains too much water thus making the cookie hard. I also increased the lemon juice and the zest to 1 tbsp each. The cookies do not brown on the top, but have a golden underside. They required 14 minutes of baking - but check them after 10 or 11 min. I also used a thin icing on top using the recipe of one of the reviewers on only half of the batch, to sweeten them up for those who like a sweeter cookie. They could also be used as a sandwich type with icing in the middle. I would rate them as 4 stars and would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
These were really easy to throw together and they taste very lemony and have a nice texture. The only thing I changed was I decorated the cookies with confectioners sugar instead of granulated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Just made these last night and followed all directions with the exception of lemon zest, didn't have any. The dough was easy to work with and as I couldn't wait I only refrigerated it until my oven preheated. Rolled small dough balls and rolled again in granulated sugar, flattened slightly and baked for eight minutes, perfect. There is a distinct tang of lemon so I can see why some subbed vanilla and omitted the lemon entirely. I also flattened the dough I didn't use last night, cut out small heart shapes this a.m., and baked also for eight minutes after sprinkling with red sugar for Valentine's, lovely. Such an easy recipe, will make again as I need more heart shaped cookies - will try vanilla flavoring alone this time. ( Also, my butter was really, really soft as it was sitting out near a heat vent, made no difference that I can see in how cookie turned out.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clare'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great recipe! I doubled the recipe with no problem, and made the lemon glaze icing suggested by another reviewer. Delicious, light, delicate with lemon zing from the icing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara11
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Yummy cookie, just seemed like a lot time went into making these with very few cookies yielded from the process. I added 1/2 lemon extract to the mix, very subtle lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Easy to prepare however not much lemon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
these are quite easy to mix up and are tasty. the dough is very soft, but still easy to work with. made them twice and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Almost flavorless; burnt at 5 min. into baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobriquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just made a batch of these cookies and they were not good. I followed the recipe exactly, but the resulting cookies were undercooked and bland. They were not crisp, nor lemony enough, and were barely buttery. Sorry! I also had to leave them in the oven for an additional 8 minutes and I only got a total of 14 cookies...which actually worked out for me because I do not like these cookies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States