Lemon Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the lemon peel in the recipe and glazed with a lemon juice, lemon peel and powdered sugar. They rolled out well and tasted very lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I just made these and I think they would be great served with coffee or tea ( like our church social ) . I didn't have lemon zest so I am not getting as much lemon flavor as I would like ( my fault ) , But I am enjoying these as they are . I love the simplicity and texture of the recipe and will definately use this one again. I didn't refridgerate either , just dropped by teaspoonfuls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Dough was way too sticky to roll out and the cookies were rather flavorless and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I have been baking cookies for many years, and know some of the "tricks' to fix a dough. These cookies, in my opinion, should have been baked at 375, instead of 350. I baked each batch for over 14 minutes, and they still didn't brown. They tasted doughy, and bland. I tried to add a lemon icing, which only helped a little. I was looking for a light, buttery cookie, and this was not it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I recently purchased a few extra lemons and was at a lost as to what to do with them. I tried your recipe, and was extremely happy with the results. They were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this last week. It was fabulous!! I added almond dice (because I am a fan of almond!!) and the cookies turned out to be very crunchy inside. For decoration, I didn't use any granulated sugar, but instead put dried cranberry in the middle. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.rudy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I am a huge fan of most anything lemon! However, these did not come out anything like what I was expecting! First of all the dough was too sticky for me to roll it out, even after adding a lot more flour. I ended up pressing it flat with my finger tips. After cooking them, the taste was not what I was looking for at all. The sugar on top did not seem to help much, but maybe some frosting would help. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or what, but I do not plan to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Monroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I thought these cookies were great. It was the perfect combination of lemon and butter. I did not chill for 2 hours because I just don't have the patience, so I dropped teaspoon size balls onto the baking sheet and they came out round and delicious! I experimented by dipping half of each cookie in chocolate which was a fabulous idea....lemon and chocolate are a perfect match!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie-Cat
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
YUM! As a big lemon dessert person, I search high & low for decent lemon cookie recipes (no cake mix!!), and this one was a winner! It's still a tad soft and just lightly cakey in the center, but the edges were crisp and the flavor was really good. I followed the recipe as is, except I did not roll them out, just spooned them in sparse teaspoonfuls. I did put sugar on the tops, too. I usually prefer the lemon flavor to be more pronounced, but the light, delicate lemon flavor in this went well with it being a "butter cookie", so I really can't complain. I decided to make a simple, easy glaze to top them. I put about 1/4 cup of sugar in a glass mixing cup, added just enough lemon juice to barely wet it, then microwaved for 1 min 10 seconds, till bubbly. then I stirred in about 1.5 oz of cream cheese and mixed w/a fork until the cream cheese was blended through. The lemon cream cheese glaze really amped up this cookie, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made these for a friend who LOVES anything lemon. The cookie was melt in your mouth delicious. I also topped off with lemon glaze. Made these very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States