Lemon-Broccoli Rice with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I see a lot of people stating this recipe is bland. A grocery store short coming, was a blessing in disguise. I could not find the original Philadelphia flavor, so I picked up the savory lemon & herb flavor and reduced the lemon zest to 1 teaspoon, this made the meal so flavorful. I also make my rice with chicken stock to add flavor, but I have also made this with pasta and it was just as good. This was an inexpensive, easy meal and a great go to for busy days. This recipe also freezes ok, the sauce does dry out slightly, so if you freeze it you may want to consider making extra sauce or adding sour cream when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Diaz de Leon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was sort of bland...not much flavor the cream cheese thing was way to thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This dish has really good flavor (I put in 3 cloves of garlic and squeezed in half a lemon), but there was entirely too much sauce for my taste. In the future, I would probably put in about HALF as much of the cooking creme. It could be good if you served it over pasta instead of rice, but it was honestly borderline with how much sauce there was. It overwhelmed everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Very good quick and easy!! I used the Italian herb and cheese cooking creme and that gave it the right amount of seasoning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was just okay. It needed more seasoning like thyme, poultry seasoning, something. Hubby did not like the Philadelphia cooking cream taste. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Easy Cheesy! Quick and Tasty- We both liked it and will make again. I didn't have lemon zest, but I used lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Quick and tasty! This was an easy recipe to follow, and my hubby loved it too! I think I may try a few different things next time I cook this- maybe different veggies, more spices, etc. This will definitely be making a reappearance on our weekly menu in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this. The lemon zest called for made it the perfect! I did make a few changes. I tossed the chicken with the pepper and about 1 tsp of cajun seasoning before cooking. I also do not like to cook with frozen vegetables so I boiled fresh broccoli florets for about 10 minutes in salted water, drained, and added to the pan with the cooking cream. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was really good and easy to make. I did have to add some things though. I added more pepper and i squeezed a lemon into it to give it that overall lemon flavor. Just the zest didn't make it taste lemony. It's hard to find Philadelphia cooking cream since its so new and the store i went to didn't have original so I used an italian herb one and that worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
i just recently started to learn how to cook; this was simple and very tasty. i even added the something extra in the footnotes! omg yummy! my kitchen smells so delicious right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States