Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This is the ultimate recipe for lemon bread!! It is very moist, and full of lemon flavor. I used two medium size loaf pans, cutting the baking time to half an hour. I increased the zest by almost double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe. I took the advice of the previous reviewer and used 1.5 tbsp of poppy seeds in place of the nuts. I would continue to do that in the future. This cake really needs the glaze to taste lemony. If I were to make it without the glaze, I would have to add some lemon extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Very moist. I replaced the walnuts with about 1.5 tablespoons of poppy seeds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Very easy to make and tastes excellent! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Great recipe! This lemon bread is truly exquisite. I find though that by adding an extra teaspoon of lemon zest, it gives a better, more lemony flavour. Delicious! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
If there were more stars I would have clicked on that. This was absolutely delicious. I put a dollop of lemon curd on a slice and topped it with whipped cream. GREAT dessert!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This bread was AWESOME !!!! Very Easy to make. My whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This recipe takes longer than others only because you will have to write the recipe out over and over for guests who try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Incredible!!! I can't say enough how delicious this bread is! It comes out so moist, doesn't fall apart when you cut it, has an amazing flavor. I added poppy seeds to mine and a little more lemon zest and I actually added a little freshly squeezed lemon juice to the batter to give it a bit more lemon flavor. It probably doesn't need it though. Also, the key really is the glaze. It adds such a tangy, crusty, sweet taste. Everyone I've made this for asks me for the recipe. Thanks so much Gwynne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very yummy lemon bread! I was looking for a recipe to use poppyseeds in and thought this would work. And it did! The glaze is so good. I made three mini loaves and it only took 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States