Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This is the best lemon bread I've ever made, my dad loves it. Especially when I add poppy seeds which realy complement the sweet-tangy lemon flavor. I add a little to the batter, and a little to the glaze and it's really delicious. I've found that the bread takes less time in my oven, about 45 minutes, but everyone's oven is different. When you think its ready then it probably is, (if you know what your doing :-) otherwise it won't be as moist as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Like other reviewers suggested, I added more lemon juice (2/3rds of a cup) and increased the flour by 2 tbsp. Very lemony flavour and a very dense, moist bread, I did have to bake mine longer though. I skipped the glaze too. One small detail that is missing in the directions...it does not say WHEN to add the lemon juice, I added it after I creamed the shortening/sugar and eggs and BEFORE the adding the milk, otherwise that much lemon juice would have curdled the milk instantly. Good recipe and thanks for providing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This is great as a dessert! I usually use butter instead of shortening, a tablespoon of lemon zest and I make the glaze by combining lemon juice with powdered sugar. It is perfect with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
This bread has a lovely pound cake texture. I poked holes in it before pouring the glaze over. Sir the glaze ingredients very well before using but don't skip using it. It makes the bread what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
I have discovered that it is quite difficult to find a good lemon loaf recipe. This one, however, is one of the best out there! The nuts are an interesting addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Soooooo good! I think I have made this 6 times since I found the recipe! Everyone loves it, and my husband is requesting it again today. I bake it in 3 mini loaf pans. I also microwave the lemon juice to melt all the sugar before pouring the glaze on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
Produces wonderfully moist lemon bread! Increase the amount of lemon rind for a very tart treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
The bread is really nice. It is moist with a great texture. The glaze really is the defining component in this recipe. Let the bread absorb as much of it as possible. My husband put it on a plate and rolled the bread in it until it was all over the bread. Yummy! My only problem with it was that the inside wasn't lemony enough. I'm not sure whether it requires more zest or perhaps a teaspoon or two of lemon juice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I love this bread! My mom used to make it when I was little. (Mom's recipe uses 1/3 c marg.) It's almost more like a cake than bread. I like to make it in mini loaf pans so the glaze can really get into each bite (poking holes is also helpful).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
The tastes of blueberry and lemon is a great match. I tried to make mini loaves but the loaves needed to cool almost completely before they'd come out of the pan. It makes a very tender loaf though. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States