Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I used unsalted butter and more lemon zest. Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This recipe is almost exactly like the recipe on the side of the Imperial Sugar bag. The difference is that it uses butter instead of shortening and a little less milk. Anyway, this bread is very tasty. It's a bit stumpy (didn't rise that much) but maybe I needed fresher baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
AWESOME CAKE, moist, rich and great lemon taste. I used the zest from one medium lemon in the batter and the juice from that lemon for the glaze (also added more sugar). I think using that much zest addded a lot of flavor to the cake. I also used butter (salted) so I skipped the tsp of salt and that worked fine. Mine needed a little more time to cook and cool and when I took it out of the pan it fell apart a little. Next time I will wait for it to cool almost completely before adding the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Very good bread. I also used poppy seed instead of nuts, and increased the lemon zest. I got raves on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
The most refreshing bread I have ever had! It's sweet, yet tangy, and has the most beautiful texture. It is like a fluffy lemon pound cake, and the glaze makes it glisten as well as tingle your tastebuds. Everyone loved it. I tripled the amount of zest, and next time I will probably add even more. Mine only took 51 minutes though, so I am glad I was checking on it the last twenty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was good but not great. I probably would not make it again. Still searching for the perfect lemon loaf....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Neratko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This bread is WONDERFUL! I used butter instead of shortening, no nuts, and about twice as much zest. This bread is not only very tasty, it's also beautiful! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Great lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humboldt, Iowa, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very yummy lemon bread! I was looking for a recipe to use poppyseeds in and thought this would work. And it did! The glaze is so good. I made three mini loaves and it only took 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe. I took the advice of the previous reviewer and used 1.5 tbsp of poppy seeds in place of the nuts. I would continue to do that in the future. This cake really needs the glaze to taste lemony. If I were to make it without the glaze, I would have to add some lemon extract to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States