Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Good but not fantastic. The glaze melts. I made it a second time and waited til the bread cooled before added the glaze. Still, the glaze did not harden (like icing). Will try another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made one loaf and 12 muffins. I agreed with a previous reviewer that the bread was baked in about 45 minutes. I added the juice of 1/2 lemon to the batter. I also used powdered sugar to make an icing instead of a glaze. Still gives that "lemony" kick without being sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPINK11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this was a very good lemon bread; however, next time I will definitely add more lemon zest to the batter and I think a glaze made with powdered sugar would be better (this kind turned out way too runny for me). With some tweaking I think this could be a great recipe for lemon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rd_sparrow
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Turned out very well. The lemon I had was small/medium and so I used two instead of one. This added a more lemon note which my family enjoyed. I also used confectioner sugar for the glaze instead of white sugar. The final piece was beautiful and very moist. Note: This could be outstanding with a thicker icing instead of just the lemon sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rd_sparrow
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I added more lemon zest, and used confectioners sugar to make a frosting instead of the glaze. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very, very, good! I just had a slice of this and it has such a tangy lemon flavor (what I was looking for), although I atribute that mostly to the glaze (I used juice of 2 lemons & added slightly more than 1/2 cup sugar), but overall taste is yummy! I too also added extra lemon zest and used butter instead of shortening. Mine was also ready at 45 min (could've even taken it out at 40 as the sides & bottom were a little overdone). Question: should it have risen even to the 9x5 pan? Mine rose about 1/2 inch at it's highest point from the initial batter height. Still good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
why anybody would want to ingest shortening I don't know. Shortening is disgusting as there is nothing remotely healthy or tasty about it to me, someone who puts his health first. However this recipes got a lot of reviews and I needed to bake something for a friend. I siubbed the shortening for butter. The bread did not rise however previously I have had this experience baking banana bread and I believe the cause is not creaming the butter and sugar FIRST then adding the eggs one at a time, not as it is written above (creaming sugar, butter and eggs together). Could the reason also be because the baking powder might have expired?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've made this recipe twice now and it's fabulous! I double the zest to add extra lemoniness (is that a word??), and also poked holes in the cake so that the glaze would soak in. I also subbed butter for the shortening, used half whole wheat flour and used poppy seeds instead of walnuts. I DID try it with walnuts once, and it wasn't as good as with the poppy seeds - plus only white flour isn't as good as the half whole-wheat. Maybe both walnuts and poppy seeds would be nice? Sooooo good with a cup of warm tea in the evening once your kitchen's all clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
More of a cake than a bread. It did not have any lemon flavor (except for the topping). I love lemon, so I was very dissapointed. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
At first I was a bit disappointed because, while the glaze was very lemony, the bread itself wasn't that lemony. But on the second and third day, it grew on me. I too traded poppy seeds for nuts. I made one with all purpose flour and white sugar, as the directions said, and one with whole wheat flour and brown sugar, just to see how it would come out. I gave the white one away and kept the brown for myself. The brown one rose more than the white one. I think 60 minutes is too long. Even cooking 2 loaves at once, the edges of the white loaf, which was in a metal pan, seemed a bit burnt. The brown loaf was cooked in a glass pan and did not burn. Both of them came apart a tiny bit when I took them out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States