Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good, but turned out a bit dry. I might try adding some oil or yogurt to the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
thanks.....its very good.my husband shared this at work and they love it. they requested me to do it once more.i added more lemon to have a stronger taste on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Good recipe for a basic lemon bread. I did however, change a number of things. First, since I wanted my bread more lemony and less milky, I added 1/3 cups of lemon juice and reduced the milk to 1/8 cups + 1 tbsp. To make the bread more fluffy, I added 1/8 of a tbsp of vinegar to the milk and also added 1/4 tsp of baking soda. I added the lemon juice right after I added the eggs. The texture was lovely! I put only 1/4 cup sugar and it was too sour for my liking, so I'd increase the amount of sugar the next time round. Also, I took the bread out of the oven and glazed it 15 mins before the cooking time ended (I cooked it for about 40 mins), and placed it back it, so it'll have time to dry a little. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldisaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
An easy quick bread to make. I made it into mini loaves (the batter was enough for 6). I used the juice of one lemon in the batter AND to brush on top of the loaves after they came out of the oven. I love the subtle tartness of the cake which was balanced well by the amount of sugar and the crunchy poppy seeds. When they first came out of the oven, it was very moist and light - almost cake-like. After a day or so, it's texture was a bit drier like the usual quick breads. I found it weird to cream the shortening, sugar and egg together at the same time. It took longer than usual to get everything together. Next time, I'll do it the usual way with shortening + sugar first, then the egg. I don't know how it'll turn out, but I bet it'll still be delicious. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
When grading the lemon, I let the juice run in to add more lemon flavor. I added chocolate chips instead of nuts! The resipe made 8 mini loafes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I think some reviewers didn't read the recipe properly- the lemon juice is for the glaze, not the bread. The zest (rind) is for the bread. I really enjoyed this bread, the glaze is fabulous! I will make again and double the rind amount- I didn't find the bread to have enough lemon flavor to it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Like other reviewers suggested, I added more lemon juice (2/3rds of a cup) and increased the flour by 2 tbsp. Very lemony flavour and a very dense, moist bread, I did have to bake mine longer though. I skipped the glaze too. One small detail that is missing in the directions...it does not say WHEN to add the lemon juice, I added it after I creamed the shortening/sugar and eggs and BEFORE the adding the milk, otherwise that much lemon juice would have curdled the milk instantly. Good recipe and thanks for providing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Good but not fantastic. The glaze melts. I made it a second time and waited til the bread cooled before added the glaze. Still, the glaze did not harden (like icing). Will try another recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I doubled the recipe and made one loaf and 12 muffins. I agreed with a previous reviewer that the bread was baked in about 45 minutes. I added the juice of 1/2 lemon to the batter. I also used powdered sugar to make an icing instead of a glaze. Still gives that "lemony" kick without being sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVPINK11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Gratiot, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this was a very good lemon bread; however, next time I will definitely add more lemon zest to the batter and I think a glaze made with powdered sugar would be better (this kind turned out way too runny for me). With some tweaking I think this could be a great recipe for lemon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States