Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Delicious, lemony bread with a cake-like texture and sweetness. I made some changes based on others' comments. I used butter instead of shortening, 1 1/2 Tbsp poppyseeds instead of nuts, and added the juice of one (small) lemon to the batter, along with 1/2 tsp of (homemade, so strong) lemon extract. I also used about half lemon zest, half orange zest, and substituted 1/4 c orange juice for half of the milk. Definitely watch cooking time. Mine was done after only 45 minutes--good thing I checked, since I didn't believe it would be done so soon. I poured the glaze on as soon as I got it out of the oven and let it soak into the bread. It worked great, although I had trouble getting it out of the pan after it had cooled some. It's very good but I find it a bit too sweet. Next time I won't use orange juice and may reduce the sugar in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was pretty good. I used the zest from 2 small lemons in the bread, and used the juice of about 1.5 small lemons for the glaze (I tasted the glaze while adding the juice to decide when to stop). I also left out the nuts and added poppyseeds instead, which was delicious. It's a very thick batter, and it goes from "not done" to "over-done" very quickly, so watch it! For my oven it took about 45 mins and it was already starting to dry out a bit. But the glaze really gave it back that moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
love this bread. the lemon flavor is perfect! the only change i made was splenda in place of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evie
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! We enjoy lemon-just-about-anything, and this was so easy to put together. I did make some changes, using butter in lieu of shortening, and bringing the sugar/lemon juice glaze mixture to a low boil (dissolving the sugar more completely that way) before pouring it over the cake. I changed the lemon juice/sugar ratio, as well: 3T white sugar to 6tsp lemon juice. Mmmm! The smell alone is wonderful! The glaze makes a nice "crust", which adds a nice contrast to the delicate crumb texture inside the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I made this bread for my husband to take to the office to share. I made two small loaves which still needed to bake for 40 minutes. I increased the lemon zest to a heaping tablespoon. I heated up the lemon juice and disolved only 1/4 cup sugar which was plenty of glaze for me. I thought it was wonderful and got rave reviews from my husband's office staff. I did have problems getting one loaf out of the pan, that one stayed home with me. NBaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used butter for the shortening, and it was excellent. Sweet and tart, and so moist. I leave the loaf in the pan when I pour the glaze over so it soaks in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
It came out dry and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was terrible. Too sugary and not enough lemon. I would skip the glaze and add lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. Baked only for 40 min. and added extra lemon zest (from one whole lemon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I've made this bread a few times and it is always delicious. This time I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and substituted canola oil for shortening. I used orange extract, orange zest, and craisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States