Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was not a "lemon" loaf - the juice of the lemon isn't in the batter, only the zest if you follow the instructions. It came out over-cooked, dry and non-lemony in flavour, even after I soaked it in the lemon juice/sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I was looking for a way to use the lemons from our Meyer lemon tree and found lots of lemon bread recipes. This is the first one I made and it was excellent; however, I doubled the zest, cut the sugars in half, and used powdered sugar in the glaze. I also used butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made exactly as recipe stated. The bread was good, the glaze waaayy too sweet and I looovvvee my sweets. I would cut sugar in half. Glaze came out a little grainy but not sure if that wasn't because I had to run out and left my husband to do that part! Only gave 4 stars due to the too sweet glaze, with half the sugar it would definitely be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lovettsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
So easy to make and the glaze topped it off. We will make this again. Didn't add nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This is really good, but pretty crumbly the last few times I've made it. It seems to help using butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe, made the bread for a lemon themed event at work my co-workers seemed to enjoy it. I did add lemon juice in addition to the squeezed lemon juice noted in the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. I took a tip from one of the reviewers to poke holes in it before adding the glaze. I will make this again with the addition of poppy seeds next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Per another's review, I added 2/3 C lemon juice, which was a good call. I love super lemony breads. I didn't have any walnuts, so I used pecans. I'm still on the fence about adding nuts to a bread that just seems to beg me to use poppyseeds instead. :) Left off the glaze because I just didn't feel like making it. Either way, this is delicious and my husband has been really enjoying it for his breakfasts this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
First time I made this and it's super delicious, and moist! Instead of walnuts I put cherries. And I put lots of lemon zest, for the glaze I used lemon juice and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States