Lemon Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Very nice flavours. Only thing to watch is the spatter if you add the ginger to the hot oil first. Watch the 1 minute cook very closely as mine started to scorch since there is no liquid yet. Delicious with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
cooked with large piece of ginger and then took out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This was a pretty good rice recipe. I also thought the lemon was a little overpowering on it's own but I paired it with the Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs recipe from this site and the flavors are wonderful together. I got a late start on the rice so I only rinsed it a few times; if you have time soak it for about 30 minutes before you cook. It makes it less sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I don't think I could survive without this recipe! Ever since first making it, I have made it about once a week since then and will continue to do so! It goes best with a grilled piece of salmon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My new go-to rice recipe! I had to "share" my one lemon with a chicken recipe, so I also used a little bottled lemon juice. I've never used basmati rice, only brown or long grain white. Basmati costs a bit more, but totally worth it. Used the leftover for a fantastic fried rice stir fry! Sautéing the rice in the oil before adding the water is a technique I've been using on plain white rice for a time now; it does make a big difference in flavor and general texture of the finished rice. I think rice has a lesser chance of burning to the pot if it is coated/toasted in the oil before the addition of liquid. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was awesome. I made it in my rice cooker using Forbidden Rice, which has a nutty flavor and striking black color. I used ground ginger as I didn't have fresh, and substituted grapeseed oil for the canola. My lemon was quite large, so I used about 1-1/2 T of the zest, and 1/3 cup juice. Served with sauteed mahi mahi. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Maybe my lemon was too large because it was a unbearable lemon taste I even had to remake it this time without the lemon zest and half of a lemon squeeze, still a bit lemony but after I poured my curry over it great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I make this often especially with fish & chicken. It's PERFECT! Can also be made in a rice cooker, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura A. Atiyeh
Living In: Concord, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very nice side for a seafood meal. Very simple and a nice change from other rice dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent! Easy and really good. I used 1 cup chicken stock with 1cup water because that's all I had. It was still first class !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States