Lemon Basmati Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My new go-to rice recipe! I had to "share" my one lemon with a chicken recipe, so I also used a little bottled lemon juice. I've never used basmati rice, only brown or long grain white. Basmati costs a bit more, but totally worth it. Used the leftover for a fantastic fried rice stir fry! Sautéing the rice in the oil before adding the water is a technique I've been using on plain white rice for a time now; it does make a big difference in flavor and general texture of the finished rice. I think rice has a lesser chance of burning to the pot if it is coated/toasted in the oil before the addition of liquid. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was awesome. I made it in my rice cooker using Forbidden Rice, which has a nutty flavor and striking black color. I used ground ginger as I didn't have fresh, and substituted grapeseed oil for the canola. My lemon was quite large, so I used about 1-1/2 T of the zest, and 1/3 cup juice. Served with sauteed mahi mahi. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Maybe my lemon was too large because it was a unbearable lemon taste I even had to remake it this time without the lemon zest and half of a lemon squeeze, still a bit lemony but after I poured my curry over it great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I make this often especially with fish & chicken. It's PERFECT! Can also be made in a rice cooker, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura A. Atiyeh
Living In: Concord, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very nice side for a seafood meal. Very simple and a nice change from other rice dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Excellent! Easy and really good. I used 1 cup chicken stock with 1cup water because that's all I had. It was still first class !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Worked in the rice cooker just fine. I liked the lightness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! Wonderful side dish, aromatic and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The family accepted the dish without issue in conjunction with Baked Salmon with Mustard-Dill sauce. The lemon complimented the Salmon graciously. I made this recipe in the rice cooker adding rice, lemon, ginger to chicken broth instead of water. I used both juice and zest of fresh lemon (recipe is a bit ambiguous on this point) and must have got too much pulp from squeezed juice in the mix as the rice was a bit sticky. I cooked a little longer to reduce the water content and firm up the rice. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Served tonight with Grilled Tilapia and Mango Salsa, this was perfect side dish. Really really easy to make, didn't change a thing and it tasted lovely and light. Adding to my regular rice sides rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States