Lemon Basil Pesto Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I used fajita cut steak instead just bc I'm picky about meat. I can't believe how easy (and healthy) it is to make this pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for basil-lemon pesto, so I did not serve it with meat. This only makes a small quantity, so I tripled the recipe to serve as side dish of pasta for 10. I added about 1/4 C lemon juice and 1 T lemon zest for a more lemony product. It went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am rating this bc I only made the lemon pesto. I was looking for a good pesto..YUM!! I don't like heavy garlic so I only used 2 cloves and it was plenty. Why didn't I think of adding a little lemon juice before?!? It adds brightness to the taste and keeps that wonderful green color..I will always add it now! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
If you don't have pine nuts and don't want to pay $6 for a tiny bag of them just use walnuts instead in the pesto. Turned out great! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! I got a chance to make this pesto with my lemon olive oil from Ohio and I added a little lemon zest to brighten the flavor. I will be using this pesto for lots of other dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wouldn't change a thing -- very nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
4.5 stars! I rubbed the steaks with a mixture of jarred minced garlic and Classico pesto, then marinated them 24 hours. I salted and put lemon juice on them, then broiled each side 6 minutes, then sliced. I tossed the slices with Basil Butter from this site (wonderful) and we thought it was very, very good. I served it with Pasta e Olio, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I loved this in every way. I don't usually put red pepper flakes in my pesto, but that little bit of heat was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The pesto was fabulous! Great recipe! The steak was a little bland unless you coated it in pesto, wished there was something you could to to it to make it a little more flavorful besides the pesto. Thanks so much! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
The homemade pesto was excellent; a huge hit. But if you've never had flat iron steak, let me warn you, it is a disgusting cut of beef. There were weird dice- sized chunks of gristle scattered throughout. It was revolting. I wouldn't feed a flat iron steak to my worst enemy's dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States