Lemon Basil Pesto Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I used fajita cut steak instead just bc I'm picky about meat. I can't believe how easy (and healthy) it is to make this pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for basil-lemon pesto, so I did not serve it with meat. This only makes a small quantity, so I tripled the recipe to serve as side dish of pasta for 10. I added about 1/4 C lemon juice and 1 T lemon zest for a more lemony product. It went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am rating this bc I only made the lemon pesto. I was looking for a good pesto..YUM!! I don't like heavy garlic so I only used 2 cloves and it was plenty. Why didn't I think of adding a little lemon juice before?!? It adds brightness to the taste and keeps that wonderful green color..I will always add it now! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
If you don't have pine nuts and don't want to pay $6 for a tiny bag of them just use walnuts instead in the pesto. Turned out great! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! I got a chance to make this pesto with my lemon olive oil from Ohio and I added a little lemon zest to brighten the flavor. I will be using this pesto for lots of other dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wouldn't change a thing -- very nice blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
4.5 stars! I rubbed the steaks with a mixture of jarred minced garlic and Classico pesto, then marinated them 24 hours. I salted and put lemon juice on them, then broiled each side 6 minutes, then sliced. I tossed the slices with Basil Butter from this site (wonderful) and we thought it was very, very good. I served it with Pasta e Olio, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I loved this in every way. I don't usually put red pepper flakes in my pesto, but that little bit of heat was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The pesto was fabulous! Great recipe! The steak was a little bland unless you coated it in pesto, wished there was something you could to to it to make it a little more flavorful besides the pesto. Thanks so much! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
The homemade pesto was excellent; a huge hit. But if you've never had flat iron steak, let me warn you, it is a disgusting cut of beef. There were weird dice- sized chunks of gristle scattered throughout. It was revolting. I wouldn't feed a flat iron steak to my worst enemy's dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States