Lemon Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I used the whole egg and added toasted pecans, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
It was good. Not enough lemon flavor but the crust is good. I added the lemon juice to the egg white/sugar mix and it kept growing! The baking soda must have reacted. It was fun to watch with my son. All in all, ok. If it was a stronger lemon flavor, I'd give it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I came across this recipe yesterday...trying to figure out different ways to use the overabundance of lemons I have on my tree. It came out perfect! I also used the tip to add the lemon zest from the lemons used, from another review, and it seemed to have gave it that extra zing! Needless to say...it was a hit! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I thought I would try this instead of my regular lemon bar recipe. I made exactly as the recipe instructed and I have to agree with some of the other reviewers in that we didn't care for the shortbread topping. I think it takes away from the lemon filling. The middle stayed more like a typical lemon bar, but, the pieces along the edge tasted more like cake and the lemon filling completely disappeared. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have never made lemon bars before this! After trying this recipe out twice, I'm not sure if my weird Japanese oven just doesn't cook the crust properly, or if I don't mix it properly. Either way, the lemon portion of the bar is delicious, but I might need to find another crust for this one. Not bad, but could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Ok so I think I flubbed this one up somehow. I made 1 1/2 times the filling and added lemon zest. I thought these were way to sweet and the whites just poofed up too much. After baking and refrigerating, the filling still seemed too gooey. Don't know if it was my fault with the extra filling or if I should've added even more time to the baking. (and I added quite a bit.). Overall taste was alright for those who have a sweetooth...less sugar for me next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I followed the directions completely and it turned out awesome! All my friends raved over it. The only thing I added was some confectioners sugar to the top of it before I served it. Oh and I served it almost straight out of the oven, so it was still nice and hot. It was delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very Yummy! Following other's advice I made some changes that I think made it better and very lemony! I made 2/3 of the crust recipe and divided that putting most on the botom...I still did not use it all--wanted more filling than crust. I also used a smaller pan so my crust would be thicker. I made the filling as directed but added lemon zest and a tiny drop of lemon extract. If I would have had crushed pecans, I would have added those to the crust. These are my favorite lemon bars! I wonder if I could have added lemon food coloring for more appeal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
i used the recipe as listed with 2 tiny exceptions, i used fresh lemon so i grated the zest in (why waste it right?) i used more crust on the bottom and lightly sprinkled crumbs across the top. BEAUTIFUL. this will be our ONLY Lemon Bar Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Delicious! These bars were really good. I didn't have the full 1/2 cup of lemon juice (ran out of lemons) so I used some lime juice as well and the taste was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States