Lemon Asparagus Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Exactly what I had in mind! What a shame the previous reviewer gave it just 3 stars, stating the recipe is tedious because of the constant stirring and the adding of broth: that is the method of risotto! I had no problem with the rice getting soft or sticking either. I used arborio rice as called for and stirred to prevent sticking and the texture was PERFECT. I did not measure the amount of broth I added though, I just added until the rice was done. Perhaps the previous reviewer had their broth at too high of a head and it boiled down, therefor lessening the amount of broth available to cook the rice? One thing to note though: I didn't have a lemon on hand and instead used bottled lemon juice, skipping the zest. I highly recommend you do NOT do this and make sure you have a lemon available. I could taste that fresh lemon juice with zest would have a brighter, cleaner flavor. Lastly, I added salt and white pepper to taste when I added the steamed asparagus because I wanted to taste the rice once all the broth was added - since the broth has salt of its own in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Final result was good with a nice lemon flavor. This recipe is a bit tedious with the constant stirring while adding broth a ladleful at a time. The risotto was not quite soft and began sticking towards the end of cooking. This requires getting a lot of pans dirty for one dish. Taste of finish product good, but the work to get there for a simple side dish was a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyklee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaelc
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Very nice - very simple. Only change - ( For us, your milage may vary ) More garlic, more wine, hold off 1/2 the celery until about the last 4 minutes, so it still has a little crunch and holds it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent. Mellow but balanced flavor, colorful (I added orange bell pepper) and a beautiful side dish for the sauteed scallops I served this with. Just what I was looking for. I like a little lemon, but not too much, so I used the lemon juice but not the zest. This was perfect - no criticisms - I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Do yourself a favor - don't change a thing the first time you make this recipe. Follow the instructions exactly, give it the time and attention it deserves, and you will have a winning dish. If you prefer bigger (or less) flavors, try it only AFTER you taste it as it's meant - great recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Didn't change a thing, and it turned out fantastic. My first time making a risotto, and your recipe made it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was a hit in my family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used bottled lemon juice and did not use the lemon zest. As far as being tedious as others have said, risotto IS time consuming but it is worth it!! I might add more parm cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Fantastic exactly as is, which is a rare rating for me, as i always tweak things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Fantastic! Will certainly make again. Because I was having green beans as a side, I left out the asparagus in this dish. And I nearly doubled the risotto used. With just one cup, it never would have been enough for four servings. That said, I used the called-for amount of chicken broth. I also left out the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by ShotsyGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was very enjoyable! It was my first time making risotto, and it took longer than I know it should have. I think maybe my heat was too high? My broth seemed to absorb or disappear too fast and yet I needed more than the 4 cups of broth for the rice to be tender (not a full cup more). It took about 35 minutes from the time I added the wine to achieve a nice texture. I followed the recipe exactly outside of the timing and used canned lemon juice, no zest. The flavors in this dish are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States