Lemon Apricot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This cake is delicious. The longer you keep it the better it taste. Cake is better in a tube pan as cupcakes or squares maybe to rich with glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very tasty, but a tad too sweet for me. I think I'll omit some of the sugar next time. I greased the pan but had a hard time getting the cake out; it just did not want to come out, and crumbled a lot--next time maybe I'll use parchemt paper or something. I didn't use the icing called for here; I used the Clear Lemon Sauce recipe from The Joy of Cooking. I just remembered my dad making it when I was little and I wanted to use that; I'm glad I did--it's delicious. This cake is lovely with that sauce and some strawberries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
My grandmother made this cake every week. Brings back great memories :) The cake is perfect with a glass of tea in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is SO, SO GOOD. I used apricot puree from last year's harvest instead of nectar and it turned out great. I topped it with buttercream frosting, adding just a few spoonfuls of apricot puree to that, too. YUM YUM YUM! Shared some with my neighbor and now it's her favorite too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake was easy to make. It is delicious and tender. It is not too sweet and the glaze goes on thick but melts beautifully over the warm cake. A word of caution- the cake was very tender, so removing it from the pan was a little bit difficult- make sure your pan is properly prepared! I served it with a lemon and apricot whipped cream- It was perfect! (Whip the cream. Add powdered sugar. Then fold in lemon juice, lemon zest, and a bit of the leftover apricot nectar.) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I can hardly wait for the next potluck so I can bring this cake. It looked beautiful and was absolutely delicious! Could only find guava nectar but was not disappointed at all with the taste. The only problem I encountered was with the glaze--had to increase the amount of lemon juice to create a liquid. Because it makes such a large cake, cut into serving sizes, wrapped in plastic wrap and stored in freezer. Whenever I wanted a piece of cake I microwaved it for 20 seconds and it tasted freshly baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family loves this cake! My recipe calls for only 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup oil, though. Also, my recipe's icing is 1 cup powdered sugar and the juice of one lemon. I sometimes almost double that, though. In case anyone is wondering, you don't actually taste the apricot flavor. That nectar just gives the cake incredible moisture. I like to make it a day or two in advance to let all the flavors and moisture get just right. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is hands down one of the best cakes I've ever tried to make. The only disappointing factor was that I couldn't really taste the apricot in the cake all though it did make it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Everyone that tried it wanted to know who made it so they could ask for the recipe. Definitely a recipe I will be making over and over. Not only is it delicious but it is an attractive looking cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Made this cake yesterday and loved it. I had stopped using cake mixes years ago, with this delicious cake under my belt (in more ways than one I am afraid) I most certainly will be purchasing this mix to make this recipe. Forgot lemons, so used rest of Necter in glaze, looking forward to making it with the lemon juice called for in the recipe. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States