Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls with Cranberry Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Recipe tasted great and using the leftover turkey this way is very clever. There is definitely some miscommunication with the egg roll vs spring roll wrappers. I took from the video that spring rolls can be baked and egg roll wrappers do better fried. I don't know if there are different types of spring roll wrappers but that's what I used. I liked the idea of a light wrapper and no frying. I tried baking them, and they basically melted away. I followed the recipe as written and as others suggested, I tried brushing a bit of oil to help crisp them up. The wrappers were almost like a clear goopy semi dissolved wrap and stuck to the pan. I'm assuming the problem is me. The kids and man child all liked them ...Oh yes, we ate them, but with a spoon... That's right, a spoon. ;) UPDATE: talked with an Asian cooking instructor who was doing demos at our grocery today (Yings kitchen). Spring roll wrappers can be baked (with a bit of oil brushed on) BUT NOT THE RICE SPRING ROLL WRAPPERS! She pointed me to a package of frozen SR wrappers and the first ingredient was wheat. Looked like the wrappers from the AR video...I guess that would have been my first clue... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe for a few years now-it's always a hit. My only variation is to add chopped dried cranberries into the filling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
tasty. Do NOT use rice wrappers in place of the egg roll wrappers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Loved these!! Will definately make again next year after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It's a good idea. The sweet and sour sauce worked well for my wife and I. The rolls themselves were dryer than we would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
my hubby liked these, but didn't care for the sauce. I didn't have Mrs. Dash so i used itailan seasoning instead, and used cole slaw inplace of the shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These are very good and definitely a different way to use up those leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Tried them both ways (baked and deep fried) and given the type of filling, I must say that deep fried is MUCH better! It only take about 1 min per roll, and I could do 2 large rolls at a time without affecting the oil temp too much. Worth the extra calories at this time of year! Save the spring roll wrappers (rice paper) for the type of spring rolls with really fresh, raw ingredients like cucumber, carrot, cilantro. AWESOME dipping sauce = do not change a thing on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 26, November 2011 I made a batch of 20 spring rolls. We baked 14 of them and deep fried 6 of them. The filling had a good flavor in both, but DH and I both enjoyed the baked rolls over the fried ones. The cranberry dipping sauce was wonderful with this recipe and I would make again to go with other Asian foods I make. I found egg roll wrappers to be very easy to work with and will be using them again. You could make this recipe with any type of filling. i.e. just veggies, chicken, turkey, pork. I plan on making another batch and freezing the spring rolls on a cookie sheet before they are baked. When ready to serve, pull out the number needed and bake. Thanks otis for sharing your recipe. It made me realize that spring/egg rolls are very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made these for recipe group. They were easy to make but the baked wrappers seemed dry and tough. Had I read the submitters comment first, I may have bought the spring roll wrappers which is what sounds like he originally wrote. Perhaps they would bake better or maybe I just got a bad package. These were also a little bland for me and seemed like they were missing something. We are eating leftovers for lunch so they're not a waste by any means just not a repeat for us I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls

See how to create a delicious twist on Thanksgiving leftovers.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States