Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls with Cranberry Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an awsome recipe. It will be great for an appetizer to any meal. I have tried these and they are delicious. ED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I made this for the recipe group. It was delicious! I thought it would be time consuming but it was not. Was hoping the cranberry sauce part wouldn't be too sweet and it was perfect! The edges of my spring rolls turned brown before the inside but it tasted great! Great little recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
GREAT RECIPE! It is my first time making egg rolls and they came out great. Since I've never made them I had a hard time folding the wrappers, they were tearing but I managed to still keep them together. They were a hit with one of my neighbors. I do recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were good and taste similiar to my regular egg roll recipe other than the dipping sauce; it was sweet and tangy and I liked it for a change, hubby prefers hot mustard on his... I doubled the sauce just to use up more of the canned cranberries. I used 1 pkg. ground turkey, 1 pkg. coleslaw mix, wrapped in egg roll wrappers and fried in canola oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Recipe tasted great and using the leftover turkey this way is very clever. There is definitely some miscommunication with the egg roll vs spring roll wrappers. I took from the video that spring rolls can be baked and egg roll wrappers do better fried. I don't know if there are different types of spring roll wrappers but that's what I used. I liked the idea of a light wrapper and no frying. I tried baking them, and they basically melted away. I followed the recipe as written and as others suggested, I tried brushing a bit of oil to help crisp them up. The wrappers were almost like a clear goopy semi dissolved wrap and stuck to the pan. I'm assuming the problem is me. The kids and man child all liked them ...Oh yes, we ate them, but with a spoon... That's right, a spoon. ;) UPDATE: talked with an Asian cooking instructor who was doing demos at our grocery today (Yings kitchen). Spring roll wrappers can be baked (with a bit of oil brushed on) BUT NOT THE RICE SPRING ROLL WRAPPERS! She pointed me to a package of frozen SR wrappers and the first ingredient was wheat. Looked like the wrappers from the AR video...I guess that would have been my first clue... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I've made this recipe for a few years now-it's always a hit. My only variation is to add chopped dried cranberries into the filling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Delicious! Best use of leftover turkey I've found! I only used dark meat because I was concerned about the white meat drying out. Like many other reviewers, I pan fried them instead of baking. They were outstanding! Worth the small amount of effort it takes to put them together, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These turned out great. I used less cabbage though, but also diced up some bok choy and celery. I also used low sodium soy sauce to cut back on the salt content and used fresh minced ginger, and a bit of srachi sauce to give it some heat. I did put more than 2 tbsp of mixture in the wrap, as it seemed too little, and I came nowhere near 50 like the recipe said. More like half that. Since I used egg roll wraps (store bought) I ended up frying them in canola oil. Turning them when they became golden (since I don't have a deep fryer), and then placing them on a wire rack and blotted some of the excess oil off. The sauce was good too, although when eating them I used very little, so as not to overpower all of the flavor in the egg roll. Definitely a great way to use up some Thanksgiving leftovers to give a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
WOW! I was tired of the old leftover turkey recipes and this one completely blew them out of the water. The combination of ingrediants for the make up of the spring rolls seems simple, but when put together, this Asian inspired appetizer is simply amazing. I will make this over and over with all of my left over turkey no matter if it's the day after Thanksgiving or any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Lusk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scobey, Montana, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe. the kids even asked if we could make this recipe every time we have leftover turkey. Hubby who swears he doesn't like spring rolls and wasn't to sure he would like the the sauce declared this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Leftover Turkey Spring Rolls

See how to create a delicious twist on Thanksgiving leftovers.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States