Leftover Turkey Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This recipe was really quick and easy to make. It was a little on the salty side, I think because of the soups. However, it was tasty. A great way to use up that leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonLyricBree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Kenneth City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I make this every year since I found it in 2005~This recipe is great! it tastes like turkey dinner all in one pan. I changed it a bit though, no onion soup mix (too salty for me) and no sour cream (too much choletorol for me)and i added a pinch of thyme. I think thyme makes turkey and stuffing taste great! I left out the canned veggie (can't do canned veggies)but used cooked green beans (frozen) and topped it with the prepared crispy onions in the canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is one of those recipies that you can interchange the ingredients as you wish for the desired taste. I followed the recipie as it was listed, with the exception that I used cut green beans instead of french and chicken thighs instead of turkey. It turned out tasty, but, as others reported, was a little salty, but by tweaking the ingredient list, that can be changed. I can see substituting the green beans with broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus, or whatever veggies you may have on hand and even going meatless by adding extra veggies in the meat layer. Bacon bits and cheese may also add additional flavor and texture. It's definitely a recipie you can make many times and different variations each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Based on what I read in the reviews, I tweaked this recipe slightly. I dumped one of the canned soups to obtain a less soupy consistency. I personally don't think it matters which one. I used a reduced fat soup and fat free sour cream. I don't like canned vegetables and didn't have green beans on hand, so I used a package of frozen, mixed vegetables (cooked before placing in the casserole). In the last 5 minutes of baking, I topped the casserole with french fried onion rings and shredded, low fat chedder cheese. My husband and I LOVED it! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I won't make this again. The ingredients sounded like a good mix, but finished product had too much sauce, too little stuffing and left much to be desired. I'll stick with making sandwiches next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Mills, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Just so-so. The cream soup and dry soup mix was very salty. I think I would prefer something like this but with gravy instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
LOVE this recipe! I used low fat sour cream and 98% fat free soups and it was outstanding! My huband was astounded! Thank you for turning my leftovers into a wonderful cassarole. Gobble gobble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I made a few changes: 1/3 the amount of sour creeam, a 14 ounce bag of stuffing (Pepperidge), 3/4 cup of vegetable broth, 1 1/2 cups of fresh broccoli, 1 can green beans & fried onions on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Oh dear, much too salty, we are chucking the left overovers. The "basic" flavour was fine but there was too much sauce and too little stuffing. Would suggest just using one can of soup (mushroom) and cut down on the sour cream and just half a packet of onion soup or less. Then it could be put in a smaller container and the stuffing would fit. I can also see brocolli/cauliflower being a better choice of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowtoes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braddock Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States