Leftover Turkey Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! Did not have canned potatoes, so after cooking up the onions, I added the water and sliced up some potatoes and brought up to boil to give them a chance. Followed instructions for the rest. I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Crowd pleaser for sure at my house. I used turkey broth instead of water, apple cider vinegar instead of white, and I used bacon fat instead of butter for the onions. That's pretty much it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is super! I love Brunswick stew but pulled pork is hard to come by around here. I had leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and came across this recipe. So glad I did!!! I did change a few things...I used fresh potatoes instead of canned. I just made sure I cooked it long enough to ensure they were done. I added about a teaspoon of chili powder and some garlic salt. Next time I will only put about half the vinegar in. This is totally wonderful! I will be enjoying this leftover leftover turkey brunswick stew for many meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've never made Brunswick Stew and I had lots of turkey from T-Day. I use this recipe as a starting point. I changed the serving size to 5. So I changed a few things up. I used 'Hunts Fire Roasted Tomatoes' & 'Tomatoes w/Green Chilies & Garlic'. Also use Chicken Stock instead of water, as well as Apple Cider Vinegar. I also use a half a bottle of the BBQ instead of 1/2 a cup & 1/8 of Worcestershire. Overall this recipe lead to a GREAT Brunswick Stew, even If it was turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile Its Jerome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As a North Carolina native, I have to say this is a great recipe, very similar to the stews served in local bbq places. I have made it with pulled pork as well. I added some frozen lima beans about halfway through cooking time, and left out the salt, as well as using fresh potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So good! My family and friends loved this. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Loved it! Very easy to make, excellent use of leftovers from the holidays. We're expecting a baby this week, and this recipe gave us plenty of food to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The flavors are great! I used Yukon Gold potato, and lots of frozen corn. I probably added 5 cups turkey. The house smells wonderful, and the broth is yummy. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Simple and good use for the leftovers. I've used other meats in place of the turkey outside of the holidays. And it's still just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4rhoads
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave From Toledo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We substituted fresh potatoes for the canned. We added frozen corn and lima beans and used green chili diced tomatoes. The stew started in the crock pot on high. We moved the stew to a stock pot when we added sliced green and red peppers and the frozen veggies after the potatoes softened a bit ( a couple of hours). We simmered the stew another hour or so and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States