Leftover Turkey Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
VERY GOOD! New favorite way to eat leftover turkey from thanksgiving, especially using dark meat. Very similar to bbq pulled pork. First off I used a 4quart slow cooker 2hrs on high and 5hrs on low. Next, while making it, I felt like it had too much water. Instead of 6 cups I used only 2. I also added an extra 1/2cup bbq sauce. This made it thicker and more like stew than soup. Also I added 1 whole diced green pepper and 1 whole diced red pepper. I also just diced the onions and chucked them in the crock pot instead of cooking them first. I didn't use the food processor and it took about 30min to prepare. Very Very Very delicious. Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is super! I love Brunswick stew but pulled pork is hard to come by around here. I had leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and came across this recipe. So glad I did!!! I did change a few things...I used fresh potatoes instead of canned. I just made sure I cooked it long enough to ensure they were done. I added about a teaspoon of chili powder and some garlic salt. Next time I will only put about half the vinegar in. This is totally wonderful! I will be enjoying this leftover leftover turkey brunswick stew for many meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! Did not have canned potatoes, so after cooking up the onions, I added the water and sliced up some potatoes and brought up to boil to give them a chance. Followed instructions for the rest. I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a great winter stew meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was really tasty, but both my hubby and I were bloated the next day, so maybe use no salt added canned goods next time. Yummy and a creative way to use up all that leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabbyskyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The only thing I could taste was the BBQ sauce. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little on the sweet side and heavy on the BBQ sauce. But overall delicious and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've never made Brunswick Stew and I had lots of turkey from T-Day. I use this recipe as a starting point. I changed the serving size to 5. So I changed a few things up. I used 'Hunts Fire Roasted Tomatoes' & 'Tomatoes w/Green Chilies & Garlic'. Also use Chicken Stock instead of water, as well as Apple Cider Vinegar. I also use a half a bottle of the BBQ instead of 1/2 a cup & 1/8 of Worcestershire. Overall this recipe lead to a GREAT Brunswick Stew, even If it was turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile Its Jerome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As a North Carolina native, I have to say this is a great recipe, very similar to the stews served in local bbq places. I have made it with pulled pork as well. I added some frozen lima beans about halfway through cooking time, and left out the salt, as well as using fresh potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good recipe, I ended up not having all the ingredients needed, but it was a very sweet and delicious stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States