Leftover Turkey Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This stew tasted extremely vinegary. Maybe if I hadn't use the called-for vinegar it would have been better. My kids would not eat it at all. I had it for two meals to avoid wasting it, but couldn't eat it again after that. The recipe used up all of our leftover turkey so it really was a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Good way to create a totally new flavor for your leftover turkey. It was tasty but disagreed with our stomachs just a little. Next time I would halve the recipe but keep the amount of turkey the same - it could use more meat proportionally but this recipe was bigger than my largest pot could accommodate. Definitely more than 10 servings. (P.S. as in previous reviews I used fresh but pre-boiled potatoes instead of canned)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So good! My family and friends loved this. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Didn't care for this one. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe was not for me. i don't think I like my food this sweet. It was a very different recipe but i just didn't work out for me sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good recipe, I ended up not having all the ingredients needed, but it was a very sweet and delicious stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As a North Carolina native, I have to say this is a great recipe, very similar to the stews served in local bbq places. I have made it with pulled pork as well. I added some frozen lima beans about halfway through cooking time, and left out the salt, as well as using fresh potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've never made Brunswick Stew and I had lots of turkey from T-Day. I use this recipe as a starting point. I changed the serving size to 5. So I changed a few things up. I used 'Hunts Fire Roasted Tomatoes' & 'Tomatoes w/Green Chilies & Garlic'. Also use Chicken Stock instead of water, as well as Apple Cider Vinegar. I also use a half a bottle of the BBQ instead of 1/2 a cup & 1/8 of Worcestershire. Overall this recipe lead to a GREAT Brunswick Stew, even If it was turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile Its Jerome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
A little on the sweet side and heavy on the BBQ sauce. But overall delicious and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The only thing I could taste was the BBQ sauce. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States