Leftover Turkey Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! Did not have canned potatoes, so after cooking up the onions, I added the water and sliced up some potatoes and brought up to boil to give them a chance. Followed instructions for the rest. I love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is super! I love Brunswick stew but pulled pork is hard to come by around here. I had leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and came across this recipe. So glad I did!!! I did change a few things...I used fresh potatoes instead of canned. I just made sure I cooked it long enough to ensure they were done. I added about a teaspoon of chili powder and some garlic salt. Next time I will only put about half the vinegar in. This is totally wonderful! I will be enjoying this leftover leftover turkey brunswick stew for many meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
VERY GOOD! New favorite way to eat leftover turkey from thanksgiving, especially using dark meat. Very similar to bbq pulled pork. First off I used a 4quart slow cooker 2hrs on high and 5hrs on low. Next, while making it, I felt like it had too much water. Instead of 6 cups I used only 2. I also added an extra 1/2cup bbq sauce. This made it thicker and more like stew than soup. Also I added 1 whole diced green pepper and 1 whole diced red pepper. I also just diced the onions and chucked them in the crock pot instead of cooking them first. I didn't use the food processor and it took about 30min to prepare. Very Very Very delicious. Will definitely cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The flavors are great! I used Yukon Gold potato, and lots of frozen corn. I probably added 5 cups turkey. The house smells wonderful, and the broth is yummy. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As a North Carolina native, I have to say this is a great recipe, very similar to the stews served in local bbq places. I have made it with pulled pork as well. I added some frozen lima beans about halfway through cooking time, and left out the salt, as well as using fresh potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've never made Brunswick Stew and I had lots of turkey from T-Day. I use this recipe as a starting point. I changed the serving size to 5. So I changed a few things up. I used 'Hunts Fire Roasted Tomatoes' & 'Tomatoes w/Green Chilies & Garlic'. Also use Chicken Stock instead of water, as well as Apple Cider Vinegar. I also use a half a bottle of the BBQ instead of 1/2 a cup & 1/8 of Worcestershire. Overall this recipe lead to a GREAT Brunswick Stew, even If it was turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smile Its Jerome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Loved it! Very easy to make, excellent use of leftovers from the holidays. We're expecting a baby this week, and this recipe gave us plenty of food to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe was not for me. i don't think I like my food this sweet. It was a very different recipe but i just didn't work out for me sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Good way to create a totally new flavor for your leftover turkey. It was tasty but disagreed with our stomachs just a little. Next time I would halve the recipe but keep the amount of turkey the same - it could use more meat proportionally but this recipe was bigger than my largest pot could accommodate. Definitely more than 10 servings. (P.S. as in previous reviews I used fresh but pre-boiled potatoes instead of canned)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
So good! My family and friends loved this. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States