Leftover Special Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Because the reviews said that this was kind of bland, I added pepper jack cheese and used leftover pork roast. I also used small shell pasta. I will make it again, maybe next time with smoked salmon. Also top with french fried onions for an added zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My family loved it! I tweeked it just a bit since I didn't have any cream of mushroom soup. I substituted cream of celery & cream of chicken, since I was making alot! Also added onion salt instead of regular salt and topped it with shredded cheese. I will definately keep this one in my books!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a great base for a casserole. I used chicken instead of ham and cream of celery soup because it is what I had on hand. I added a couple handfuls of cheese (a pre-shredded "Mexican" blend), out-of-a-jar mushrooms,and sprinkled the top with parmesan cheese. I also sprinkled oregano on the casserole, but I do not recommend that, as it gives it a weird after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is one of our family's all time favorite casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was awesome!!! Since other reviewers mentioned it was bland, I roasted a head of garlic in the oven for 1/2 an hour and mixed that in with my leftover mashed potatoes. I made this the day after Thanksgiving so I just used the leftover stuffing and skipped the steps for the stuffing in the recipe. I also added some broccoli to the turkey layer because I had that leftover. It definitely needed that. My sister loved it so much that she said making this casserole should become a Thanksgiving tradition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
For those who don't like spicy, this recipe is perfect. I added more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My husband and I both loved this!!! I did make a few alterations...I used left over smoked turkey we had in the deep freeze, I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, added onions and seasoning salt for taste. I also sprinkled in some shredded cheese and used Mrs. Grimes frozen egg noodles instead of the dried ones from off the shelf. We ate it over mash potatoes! I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Had leftover ham and this was good. I think the people that found it dry added too many noodle, 4 cups isn't a whole bag of noodles. My hunny really enjoyed this but said the next time I should cook the veggies a bit before adding them as they were a bit crunchy still and he felt it was out of place. I made exactly as stated except added a bit more veggies as that is how it was bagged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not bad at all...! A little bit bland..I just used the packaged cubed ham & it was very easy...(no leftovers!)I think it was my fault for not putting enough pepper in ...I will DEFFINETLY make this again..but..next time I think I'm going to try with cream of asparagus and use penne or macaroni noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Maybe it was just me, but the soup mixture was not enough to coat the casserole ingredients. I might have added more chicken (not ham) and veggies, however. I added another can of cream of whatever soup I had on hand, and some more milk, and it was fine. Wasn't bland either. Maybe those of who who think it's bland need to add more soup. Not the low sodium kind, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States