Leftover Special Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Maybe it was just me, but the soup mixture was not enough to coat the casserole ingredients. I might have added more chicken (not ham) and veggies, however. I added another can of cream of whatever soup I had on hand, and some more milk, and it was fine. Wasn't bland either. Maybe those of who who think it's bland need to add more soup. Not the low sodium kind, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Because the reviews said that this was kind of bland, I added pepper jack cheese and used leftover pork roast. I also used small shell pasta. I will make it again, maybe next time with smoked salmon. Also top with french fried onions for an added zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a great base for a casserole. I used chicken instead of ham and cream of celery soup because it is what I had on hand. I added a couple handfuls of cheese (a pre-shredded "Mexican" blend), out-of-a-jar mushrooms,and sprinkled the top with parmesan cheese. I also sprinkled oregano on the casserole, but I do not recommend that, as it gives it a weird after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I changed this recipie quite a bit, and it still came out on the bland side. I used leftover turkey, macaroni rather than egg noodles, and frozen mixed veggies that included green beans and corn as well as carrots and peas. I added onion and garlic salt to the soup mixture (as well as a little cardamom and cumin), and poured half of the soup mix on after the veggie layer. I mixed 1 tsp of minced garlic in with the onion layer. After adding the remaining soup mix to the top of the casserole, I sprinkled parmesean cheese on the top. It came out pretty well, but my boyfriend and I both added more parmesean to our serrvings. Next time, I think I'll put a couple layers of shredded monterey jack cheese in, and possibly use different veggies (I don't care for the peas in this). Overall though, a good way to use up leftover meat without having to say "turkey/ham/chicken AGAIN?!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not bad at all...! A little bit bland..I just used the packaged cubed ham & it was very easy...(no leftovers!)I think it was my fault for not putting enough pepper in ...I will DEFFINETLY make this again..but..next time I think I'm going to try with cream of asparagus and use penne or macaroni noodles..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My family loved it! I tweeked it just a bit since I didn't have any cream of mushroom soup. I substituted cream of celery & cream of chicken, since I was making alot! Also added onion salt instead of regular salt and topped it with shredded cheese. I will definately keep this one in my books!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Sorry, but I didn't find this recipe to be anything special. We thought it was rather bland and boring. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
My husband just loved this! Too bad my children ages 1-1/2 and 5 hated it! They couldn't even eat it. I will not be able to make this again. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States