Leftover Special Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Had leftover ham and this was good. I think the people that found it dry added too many noodle, 4 cups isn't a whole bag of noodles. My hunny really enjoyed this but said the next time I should cook the veggies a bit before adding them as they were a bit crunchy still and he felt it was out of place. I made exactly as stated except added a bit more veggies as that is how it was bagged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was just fine, nothing special. However it did make use of some leftover ham from the holidays. It probably could be tweaked a little more. But not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My husband and I both loved this!!! I did make a few alterations...I used left over smoked turkey we had in the deep freeze, I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, added onions and seasoning salt for taste. I also sprinkled in some shredded cheese and used Mrs. Grimes frozen egg noodles instead of the dried ones from off the shelf. We ate it over mash potatoes! I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
For those who don't like spicy, this recipe is perfect. I added more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was awesome!!! Since other reviewers mentioned it was bland, I roasted a head of garlic in the oven for 1/2 an hour and mixed that in with my leftover mashed potatoes. I made this the day after Thanksgiving so I just used the leftover stuffing and skipped the steps for the stuffing in the recipe. I also added some broccoli to the turkey layer because I had that leftover. It definitely needed that. My sister loved it so much that she said making this casserole should become a Thanksgiving tradition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I NEVER make things like this, but I am 8 1/2 months pregnant and am looking for EASY things I don't have to THINK about. Also, I am cleaning out the freezer for milk storage! EEK! Had some frozen ham, decided to try this recipe. It is not wholly objectionable, but it is what I call 'church potluck food'. Okay if you're desperate, but it won't be in my everyday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Good start, but as others stated, very bland. To kick it up, I added lots of seasonings and vegetables. This also needed a second can of the soup. I topped the casserole with some shredded jack cheese and canned fried onions. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is hard to rate because I changed it a bit. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. My family just doesn't groove on the "cream of" soups I guess. I used leftover chicken that had been marinating in teriyaki so maybe that's what the problem was. Like I said, hard to rate since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I agree with the other reviews that it needed more sauce and a little cheese on top would probably help. I doubt I'll make this again but it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
It was OK. I made this with leftover Christmas ham. We love egg noodles so I gave this recipe a try. I did add two cans of cream of mushroom as others did (not low sodium). I even added some garlic powder, but it was still lacking in flavor. I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is one of our family's all time favorite casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States