Leftover Special Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Had leftover ham and this was good. I think the people that found it dry added too many noodle, 4 cups isn't a whole bag of noodles. My hunny really enjoyed this but said the next time I should cook the veggies a bit before adding them as they were a bit crunchy still and he felt it was out of place. I made exactly as stated except added a bit more veggies as that is how it was bagged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This recipe was just fine, nothing special. However it did make use of some leftover ham from the holidays. It probably could be tweaked a little more. But not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My husband and I both loved this!!! I did make a few alterations...I used left over smoked turkey we had in the deep freeze, I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, added onions and seasoning salt for taste. I also sprinkled in some shredded cheese and used Mrs. Grimes frozen egg noodles instead of the dried ones from off the shelf. We ate it over mash potatoes! I used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
For those who don't like spicy, this recipe is perfect. I added more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was awesome!!! Since other reviewers mentioned it was bland, I roasted a head of garlic in the oven for 1/2 an hour and mixed that in with my leftover mashed potatoes. I made this the day after Thanksgiving so I just used the leftover stuffing and skipped the steps for the stuffing in the recipe. I also added some broccoli to the turkey layer because I had that leftover. It definitely needed that. My sister loved it so much that she said making this casserole should become a Thanksgiving tradition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I NEVER make things like this, but I am 8 1/2 months pregnant and am looking for EASY things I don't have to THINK about. Also, I am cleaning out the freezer for milk storage! EEK! Had some frozen ham, decided to try this recipe. It is not wholly objectionable, but it is what I call 'church potluck food'. Okay if you're desperate, but it won't be in my everyday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Good start, but as others stated, very bland. To kick it up, I added lots of seasonings and vegetables. This also needed a second can of the soup. I topped the casserole with some shredded jack cheese and canned fried onions. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is hard to rate because I changed it a bit. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. My family just doesn't groove on the "cream of" soups I guess. I used leftover chicken that had been marinating in teriyaki so maybe that's what the problem was. Like I said, hard to rate since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I agree with the other reviews that it needed more sauce and a little cheese on top would probably help. I doubt I'll make this again but it was worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
It was OK. I made this with leftover Christmas ham. We love egg noodles so I gave this recipe a try. I did add two cans of cream of mushroom as others did (not low sodium). I even added some garlic powder, but it was still lacking in flavor. I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is one of our family's all time favorite casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States