Leftover Roast Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe!!! I slow cooked a london broil roast to make BBQ sandwiches but found this recipe and gave it a try. I used cans of corn, green beans, and potatoes since I didn't have mixed vegetables on hand. I loved how easy this was because you really didn't have to follow the measurements exactly, you can do it to your taste preferences. And since I had the broth the meat cooked in I didn't need any broth. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Perfect for leftovers! Easy recipe to adjust to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
We really liked this. I don't use canned veggies, so used frozen instead. I added a cup of water to make up for not having water from canned corn, but it was a bit too much, maybe 1/2 cup at the most. I also didn't have much bbq sauce, maybe about a cup was all that was in my bottle but it was plenty, giving it just enough flavor. Used beef boullion cubes instead of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I only gave it 4 stars, because if I used the full amount of bbq sauce, I know I wouldn't have liked it. I chopped the roast as it wasn't moist enough to shred. I first put the roast cubes in the crockpot and then squirted in the bbq, stirring, just enough for decent coverage. I also used frozen vegetables instead of canned as I just don't use canned vegetables. This is a good recipe to use up a dry roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good use of leftover roast. I really liked it. I followed the recipe, but I did use frozen corn instead. I'm planning on making it again tonight, but I'm using less BBQ sauce this time, was a bit overpowering last time. But very good overall. Thanks for the recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was great! I DID use the sweet barbeque sauce, but didn't use as much -thus it wasn't too sweet! I used a can of corn & found that this is very tasty, but much better if put over some rice or a piece of toasted bread. -Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Surprisingly my family liked this stew and wanted to have it again. Looking for a different use of leftover roast. I adjusted it by using a can of corn and can of green beans but I only used about 3/4 cup of hickory bbq sauce. Be sure to include all of the liquid from the veggies. I only had chicken stock so I added beef cubes to it and cooked it on high for the full hour. I took the suggestion of serving over rice and it was awesome and just as good as leftover for lunch as well! I wouldn't have tried something like this on my own. Even my picky son liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKC1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gun Barrel City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used all my leftovers up including the vegs that were in the roast itself. So I didn't use canned mixed vegetables. I did take out more than half the bbq sauce and added canned sweet corn to it. It came out great. I will make it again when I have leftovers from a roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Sweet & Sour Version Used only one cup of BBQ sauce, but it was still a bit too sweet. So I added one TBSP of vinegar. Set the slow cooker on low and four hours later the beef was very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I love this recipe, what a great way to use up left overs! I used my leftover carmelized onion roast, scalloped potatoes, canned corn and some fresh celary, spinach and tatsoi from my new farmshare, it's amazing! I used the leftover barbecue sauces I had in the fridge, so there was a little sweetness, but not all if was sweet sauce. I might use less Worcestershire sauce next time, as i forgot it and added that last minute. Over all, a great recipe with flexibility.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States