Leftover Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by drella
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is a great idea, but the recipe is a little vague in explaining the execution, and I used only in the most loose way as a jumping off point. Per reading peoples reviews I decided to do three mini potpies and froze them before baking. I sauteed fresh carrots, celery, onions, mushrooms and garlic in olive oil with a little salt, pepper, oregano, basil and rosemary. I also added some canned peas after the veggies had began to soften. I diced my leftover turkey and then added to pan with a little bit of leftover turkey gravy. I added the bottom pie shells to the 5" pot pie tins then ladled in gravy at the bottom, then the veggie/meat mix next till almost full, then topped off with more gravy and then added the top layer of pie crust. The proportions of 2 cups veggies, two cups turkey and two cups gravy was the perfect amount for the three small pies. If you already have pre-made gravy you can totally ignore the part of the recipe about water and cornstarch. I used every last bit of my Thanksgiving leftovers and am thrilled not to have any waste. This will be the start of something I do every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good. I did add the cream of Celery soup as another reviewer had suggested. Will definitely make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the best turkey pot pie we have ever tasted! The only thing I did different was add the last of our leftover stuffiing (about 1 cup)and an extra 1/2 cup of water. Delicious! I suggested sharingthe leftover pie with friends and my husband said "it's too good to share" - He loved it! thank you for sharing this great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very easy to make my husband and I loved it its a great way to use up some of that leftover turkey and its very simple to put together anybody should be able to make this i didnt make enough gravy so i just added a little more water to it to make it an even 2 cups along with 1 and a half tablespoons of corn starch to thicken it up i also didnt use the bottom pie crust and i think it came out great since the bottom usually is mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have made this several times. I added the leftover potatoes also. Sweet and regular. Made it nice and creamy. The family loves it. The only other thing I do is bake the bottom crust for 15 min first then let it cool then add the filling and top crust. This way the bottom crust does not get soggy and it's cooked all the way thru! Good luck. Add the leftover cranberry sauce for a little surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband loved this dish!! And I loved it because it was soooo easy!!! Starting a new tradition the weekend after Thanksgiving, we'll have this for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used turkey stock and thicken it up with cornstarch. It was a little soupy. Next time I will only use 1 cup of broth. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I got rave reviews and here are the changes I made: Per another review I cooked my leftover turkey stock (2 cups) and added 2 packets of chicken gravy and then 1/2 c water and ~2 Tb cornstarch. To that I added 2.5 c turkey, 2 c frozen peas n carrots, 1 chopped small onion, ~1/2 c portabella mushrooms and some fresh thyme. I put this in the bottom pie crust and then added a little shredded parmesan cheese and pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is my first time making this pie, and based on my "tastings" it is delicious. I, too, used a deep dish pie plate, however, I changed it a bit. I made a bechamel sauce, sauteeing chopped onion in 3T. butter, adding 2-3T flour, cooking it as a rue and then adding 2 c. milk. It was thick as I expected it would be, so thinned it to a nice gravy consistency with turkey broth. I thought a white sauce would be nicer than my dark gravy, and it saves the gravy for open-faced turkey sandwiches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States