Leftover Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have never been so excited about a receipe! This was a fabulous change from the standard "turkey soup" that I have always made with leftover turkey. I used ALL the leftovers, and it was delicious!! I brought it to work for everyone to try, and they all want the recipe. Thanksgiving leftovers will never be the same again ... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this last night for supper. I didn't have a can of mixed vegies, but I did have potatoes, carrots, celery and pearl onions. So I cooked them first, and prepared the rest of the ingredients. It all came out very good. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe is delicious. I followed it to a "T". I had half of it left over and sent it home with my son-in-law. This is indeed the turkey pot pie that I remember growing up. Thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Photo by drella
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is a great idea, but the recipe is a little vague in explaining the execution, and I used only in the most loose way as a jumping off point. Per reading peoples reviews I decided to do three mini potpies and froze them before baking. I sauteed fresh carrots, celery, onions, mushrooms and garlic in olive oil with a little salt, pepper, oregano, basil and rosemary. I also added some canned peas after the veggies had began to soften. I diced my leftover turkey and then added to pan with a little bit of leftover turkey gravy. I added the bottom pie shells to the 5" pot pie tins then ladled in gravy at the bottom, then the veggie/meat mix next till almost full, then topped off with more gravy and then added the top layer of pie crust. The proportions of 2 cups veggies, two cups turkey and two cups gravy was the perfect amount for the three small pies. If you already have pre-made gravy you can totally ignore the part of the recipe about water and cornstarch. I used every last bit of my Thanksgiving leftovers and am thrilled not to have any waste. This will be the start of something I do every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good. I did add the cream of Celery soup as another reviewer had suggested. Will definitely make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the best turkey pot pie we have ever tasted! The only thing I did different was add the last of our leftover stuffiing (about 1 cup)and an extra 1/2 cup of water. Delicious! I suggested sharingthe leftover pie with friends and my husband said "it's too good to share" - He loved it! thank you for sharing this great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was very easy to make my husband and I loved it its a great way to use up some of that leftover turkey and its very simple to put together anybody should be able to make this i didnt make enough gravy so i just added a little more water to it to make it an even 2 cups along with 1 and a half tablespoons of corn starch to thicken it up i also didnt use the bottom pie crust and i think it came out great since the bottom usually is mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have made this several times. I added the leftover potatoes also. Sweet and regular. Made it nice and creamy. The family loves it. The only other thing I do is bake the bottom crust for 15 min first then let it cool then add the filling and top crust. This way the bottom crust does not get soggy and it's cooked all the way thru! Good luck. Add the leftover cranberry sauce for a little surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My husband loved this dish!! And I loved it because it was soooo easy!!! Starting a new tradition the weekend after Thanksgiving, we'll have this for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States